We collect reviews directly from our clients via email and publish them here. We hope you enjoy reading through them as much as we do, they are a paper trail of happy memories!

We also have reviews on UpFront and on our Google page

Ropoli Sopra

Ropoli Sopra

The stay at Ropoli was wonderful

The stay at Ropoli was wonderful. The house was absolutly perfect for our family of 4. It was cosy and tastefull. We had lovely walks in Montestigliano, and we enjoyed delicious restaurants around thanks to Francesco.The team at Mostestigliano was very hepful with all sort of questions and always ready to help. The autumn in the region is very beautiful and quiet. We are planing to be back and already spotted some other property on Invitation To Tuscany website!

Juliette & Jeremie staying in Ropoli Sopra. Oct 2021
Ropoli Sopra

Ropoli Sopra

Familie på fem i Ripoli Sopra i en uge midt i juli.

Vi havde et meget dejligt ophold. Vi vil især fremhæve:

• Borgo'en er virkelig smuk, herunder grøntsagshaven, som vi fik lov at købe lidt fra • Det er genialt med både en familie- og rolig pool. Ingen af dem var overrendte, så det var virkelig fint • Personalet, Ifrat og Francesco, er meget søde og imødekommende værter • Køkkenet i huset er hæderligt til egen madlavning • Fællesspisning og pizzaaften var virkeligt skønne og stemningsfulde • Deres eget kokkekursus er billigt (sammenlignet med andre), og vældig hyggeligt i deres smukke køkken, men det er ikke det helt store, man lærer (vi blev overtalt af en anden gruppe til at deltage) • Der er roligt om natten

På minussiden vil vi kun nævne, at der var meget varmt, og vi forelog, at de får installeret aircon i soveværelserne. Varmen var overraskende også for værterne, og flere havde sagt det samme, og de ville se på det.

Vi kan i høj grad anbefale et ophold. Vi har tidligere været på Montalbino om efteråret – som har den fordel at de også driver en meget lækker restaurant med egne råvarer. Men Montestigliano er lige så godt, samlet set.

Morten from Denmark staying in Ropoli Sopra. Jul 2022
Ropoli Sopra

Ropoli Sopra

Family of five in Ripoli Sopra for a week in mid-July.

We had a very nice stay. In particular, we would like to emphasize:

• The Borgo is really beautiful, including the vegetable garden, which we were allowed to buy some from • It is brilliant to have both a family and quiet pool. None of them were overrun, so that was really nice • The staff, Ifrat and Francesco, are very nice and welcoming hosts • The kitchen in the house is suitable for your own cooking • Common dining and the pizza evening were really wonderful and atmospheric • Their own cooking course is cheap (compared to others), and very cozy in their beautiful kitchen, but it's not that much you learn (we were persuaded by another group to join) • It is quiet at night

On the minus side, we would only mention that it was very hot, and we suggested that they install air conditioning in the bedrooms. The heat was surprising for the hosts as well, and several had said the same, and they wanted to watch it.

We can highly recommend a stay. We have previously been to Montalbino in the autumn - which has the advantage that they also run a very delicious restaurant with their own ingredients. But Montestigliano is just as good, overall.

Morten from Denmark staying in Ropoli Sopra. Jul 2022
Villa Colombaia

Villa Colombaia

A beautiful family vacation for all ages

We were 11 adults from 30 to 68 years of age and 2 boys aged 2 years. we had a fantastic stay and experience. Villa Colombaia is a paradise, beautiful view from all rooms and outside to the soft green hils of Toscana. Despite only 1,5 km from the village Rignano Sull'arno, we felt very private and in the countryside. The house is big but very functional. A very good swimming pool were we stayed much of the time if not in the green shadows at the table by the entrance.

Only 1 km to the bakery were we bought bread and croissant every morning, similar to the tennis court which we also used. Very practical with the train station only 1.5 km away, used the train to visit Florence which is very practical and to and from the airports in Florence, Pisa and Bologna. Only 4 of us came by car from Denmark.

And last and not least a very helpfull and engaged owner Ilaria. She among others things arranged locals Olga and Paulo to come to the house and made dinner for us - the best Pizzas ever tasted.

Henning from DK staying in Villa Colombaia. Jul 2023
Villa Colombaia

Villa Colombaia

Lovely villa, warm and welcoming host

It was a charming glimpse into what it's like to live in a villa that's full of history. Much of the villa has been left the way it's been for generations so there was no heating and our first night was quite cold, but the owner thoughtfully provided plenty of blankets. While the villa's vintage feel took some getting used to, the children in our group of 13 ended up loving it and were sad to leave. We were very appreciative of the owner's warm welcome and constant responsiveness and would only suggest the addition of a clothes dryer so that laundry could be done with more ease.

Just need to note that when we got in touch with Invitation to Tuscany we specifically asked for a villa that would not require a car and we were told Villa Colombaia fit the bill. It does not. There is a long driveway (over 400 meters) with a very steep uphill climb — we had elderly adults in our group (which we also mentioned to Invitation to Tuscany at the planning stage) and they found it difficult to navigate. The villa itself is lovely, but you will definitely need a car if you plan to stay here.


Dear Joanna, while we did tell you previous guests had stayed here with no car, we still always advise clients to hire one even if you don't intend to use it much; Tuscany is a land of hills and unmade tracks so walking can be onerous. But 400 metres is a very short walk in anybody's book! Dan

Joanna & family staying in Villa Colombaia. May 2023
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Perfect house with pool and tennis court

The house is cozy, clean and well equipped. The pool, outdoor area and private tennis court are really big and amazing. The view is stunning!!! Host is very friendly and shared a list with great recommendations of restaurants and places to visit. The only improvement I can think of is to buy a dishwasher.

Thanks Louis! I agree about the dishwasher but as the kitchen is built of brick we have to wait until they change the whole thing before they can find space to add a dishwasher ... but it is on the to-do list! Dan

Louis W from Germany staying in Treggiaia. Aug 2023
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Sommerferie 2023

Vi havde et fantastisk ophold i villa Treggiaia. Rigtig fin velkomst og meget søde og hjælpsomme ejer som var meget opmærksomme på vores velbefindende.

Overraskede os med lækre pizza og grønsager.

Sanni & family from Denmark staying in Treggiaia. Aug 2023
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Tuscany Retreat

The property location was wonderful with views over to the Cliffs of Valdarno. Good to have air-conditioning in the house, but as it was so hot would have been nice to have this downstairs as well for the evenings.

Niccolo was very helpful and made sure we had everything we need. Very nice to receive a bottle of Chianti which was wonderful and the treat of the arrival of occasional plates of canapés from the owners.

Location generally was good just than everywhere is a reasonable drive of about an hour or so if you want to see the main sites.

Thank you to the owners for being so welcoming.

Chris W. and family staying in Treggiaia. Jul 2023
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Lovely holiday at Treggiaia

Enjoyed a lovely time at Treggiaia. Very comfortable villa with beautiful pool and outdoor facilities. Spectacular views and privacy added to our enjoyment and the warm welcome from Laura, the owner, and her grandson, Niccolo, made it more personal. Friendly and professional experience from ‘Invitation to Tuscany’ made us feel valued clients.

Susan and family staying in Treggiaia. Jun 2023
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Just a perfect vacation

We have a great and relaxing time in this beautiful villa surrounded by beautiful countryside. The location is perfect for trips to Florence, Siena, Arezzo, etc. A nice walk in the Le Balze nature reserve is also recommended. Many thanks to our very nice and helpful hosts Niccoló and his grandma. We'd love to come back. Kind regards Nicole, Helmut, Hannah and Emma

Helmut and family from Germany staying in Treggiaia. Jun 2023
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Prachtige omgeving

Heel mooi prachtig in de heuvel gelegen huis. Ontvangst door eigenaar was zeer aangenaam zeer vriendelijke en gastvrije mensen. Groot zwembad waar vanuit het uitzicht schitterend is. Huis zeer schoon en comfortabele. Dit is zeker een aanrader.

Sandra K from Netherlands staying in Treggiaia. Sep 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Beautiful converted Barn with fabulous panoramic views

Our hosts greeted us with a lovely warm smile that set the tone for our stay. The accommodation exceeded our expectations, the pool was lovely and a reasonable size for the four of us to mess around in and the views across the vineyards were amazing. The location is quite remote and we were tempted to give 4/5 for this as it frustrated a little at times (hyper market 15 min drive) but in fairness if you book accommodation in the Tuscan hills what do you expect?! . Our hosts live adjacent to the property and would just check on us from time to time which was lovely, otherwise we barely saw anyone. A great spot to stay if you are visiting Florence as we did- It’s around 40 mins in the car and the road was clear each time we made the trip. Arezzo is also worth a look to the south.

Kevin staying in Treggiaia. Aug 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Wonderful Location

Delightful stay at Treggiaia. Perfectly located for exploring Sienna, Florence (take the train from San Giovanni Valdarno - much easier than driving), San Gimignano etc. Great pool and very comfortable villa. The little things that make a difference - very well researched local restaurant suggestions take the guess work out. And a very welcome selection of antipasti provided to welcome us from our lovely hosts along with a lovely bottle of Chianti Classico. Really love the independent and friendly nature of Dan and team at invitation to Tuscany. What are you waiting for ? Book now!

Chris and family from UK staying in Treggiaia. Aug 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We returned to Treggiaia after 19 years

We returned to Treggiaia after 19 years and it was as lovely as we’d remembered and a perfect place to bring our kids to get away from it all for a week.

The house is beautiful and the views are breathtaking. Outside, the terrace is a perfect place for eating together with lovely views of the sunset. The swimming pool is idyllic and the two parasols provide plenty of shade.

We appreciated the air conditioning in the bedrooms at night time, too. La Treggiaia is a great base from which to explore Tuscany, with Lucca, Florence, Siena and Arezzo all within easy reach by car. Definitely recommend hiring bikes in Lucca! We had a very warm welcome from Niccolò and Signora Matassini and have already booked to return next year. Thank you for a lovely holiday. Ci vediamo l’anno prossimo!

K from UK staying in Treggiaia. Jul 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

A lovely relaxing place to stay

Our family had a wonderful stay at Treggiaia. The location is beautiful and the views exceptional. The lovely pool and tennis court meant we could keep cool and do a bit of exercise even on lazy days.

The station is only a short drive away meaning trips to Florence were easy to do. The owners were nearby and very charming and helpful.

Sarah Jordan & family from UK staying in Treggiaia. Jul 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

A great place to recharge

Amazing stay, in a nice secluded environment, a great place to recharge. Very nice owners they are very attentive to details. Would love to visit again soon!

Richard from NL staying in Treggiaia. May 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Great stay

The villa was a perfect stay, a bit out of the way but very peaceful.

Pool was amazing and Niccólo was incredibly helpful.

Air-conditioning in rooms was great and the villa had everything we needed.

Would recommend going back but make sure to have some itinerary items planned in advance so you know where to travel!

We went to Florence, San Gimigano, Siena and the Chianti region.

Thanks again! Danny and Hannah

Danny and Hannah staying in Treggiaia. May 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Geweldige accommodatie!

We hebben 2 schitterende vakantie weken gehad in dit prachtige huis. Zwembad was fantastisch. Veel gebruik gemaakt van de mooi gelegen tennisbaan. Adembenemend uitzicht!

Alex from NL staying in Treggiaia. Jun 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We had a most wonderful time in Treggiaia

We had a most wonderful time in Treggiaia. The location was perfect for us. Close enough to reach bigger cities and do sight seeing and out in the country for a restful holiday. The house was well equipped and the pool was lovely and well looked after. We also made use of the Tennis court which was great to have. The host family were an absolute delight. Very helpful with information and giving us a fantastic Tuscan experience. We enjoyed Treggiaia for its peacefulness and natural beauty. We had great fun exploring the surrounding villages and having day trips to Siena, Arrezzo and other places. Can’t really recommend any restaurants as we ate “at home” each night. Would certainly recommend it to other people.

Thank you also for being in touch with us before we went and sending us all the useful information and directions - it was much appreciated and helpful.

J. McN from UK staying in Treggiaia. Mar 2019
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

.....cannot recommend it highly enough

We had an absolutely wonderful time staying in Treggiaia and cannot recommend it highly enough. It was exactly what we hoped for when we imagined our trip to Tuscany. Set in beautiful countryside but within easy reach of Florence and other gems like Siena and San Gimignano, it was the perfect spot for exploring the area - although we also enjoyed our lazy days by the pool. The villa itself was charming and perfect for our needs (the pictures don't do it justice). What really made it such a special place to stay was the hosts, who made us feel welcome and at ease from the moment of our arrival. They were on hand whenever we needed them (for tourism tips or delicious homemade snacks) but very respectful of our privacy at all times.

We fully endorse the other reviews and comments on this site. If you are looking to get away from the stress of work and unwind in a beautiful scenery - or if you are looking for a base to explore Tuscan culture - this is the perfect spot. And the people are lovely too. We would definitely go back again.

H.C. staying in Treggiaia. Dec 2018
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We would definitely stay there again

We stayed at La Treggiaia at the beginning of June to celebrate my Mum's 60th birthday. We couldn't recommend it enough - the villa was the ideal base for a relaxing holiday exploring Tuscany.

The location is beautiful, overlooking the valley from the side terrace and surrounded by the grounds of the owners' farmhouse. The barn conversion has been done very tastefully and is spotlessly clean, the photos don't do it justice!

The owners were so welcoming, bringing over homemade bruschetta and answering any questions we had. We would definitely stay there again.

L.E. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Sep 2018
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We absolutely love Treggiaia

We absolutely love Treggiaia. The house is perfect, the pool is to die for and the surrounding scenery is wonderful. We have stayed twice now. The family really look after you, bringing little homemade treats for you. There are a couple of lovely restaurants in the nearby villages which are not too expensive. The train station is about 10 minutes away so a trip to Florence is a must. We were very fortunate this year to see the grape harvest taking place which is something we were in awe of !! Invitation to Tuscany are our "go to" company for our Italian holidays :-)

J.P. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Feb 2017
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We greatly enjoyed our holiday at Treggiaia

We greatly enjoyed our holiday at Treggiaia. It is a delightful property in a delightful spot, with a splendid pool and attentive owners on hand (who provided everything from fresh linen to fresh apricots!). There is a lovely covered terrace for outdoor eating, with nice views and complete privacy, with a tennis court on hand too. Being able to go to Florence and Arezzo by train from the local station was a real bonus (though finding parking at the station was a bit of a problem). As it was a heatwave throughout our stay, the air conditioning in the bedrooms was especially welcome.The house amenities, while quite adequate, do need a bit of refreshing though. For example, the bed had a protruding spring, and there were no dishes for the oven (though one was supplied immediately when we asked for it). But these are minor quibbles in relation to an exceptionally lovely property.

The location is somewhat off the usual tourist trail, which meant that only Italian was spoken locally and there is not the range of restaurants or other amenities that might normally be expected. What would have been really useful was a visitors' book (which is nearly always provided in properties we have stayed in) in which people can recommend places to visit, eat etc. There was some basic information provided by the property itself, but the absence of a visitors' book was a significant omission in terms of advice on where to go and what to do, especially useful in a less visited area.

But the main verdict is emphatically positive. It is a wonderful property. We would also add that it has been refreshing dealing with a travel company that delivers such a helpful and personal service to its clients.


Thank you very much for your comments about Treggiaia - we'll raise your points with the owner via email and also when we visit in September, and will also help her make a more complete house book, we have templates for that! Thanks, Dan W.

T.W. staying in Treggiaia. Oct 2017
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

...the holiday was really enjoyable and care-free

My family and I spent a lovely holiday in Tuscany last week, staying at Treggiaia. I just want to let you know that the service we received from 'Invitation to Tuscany' was excellent and pass on my thanks to you and the team. While we where there, the property owner, Michela, was also fantastic. She could not have been more accommodating and helpful, which made the holiday a real pleasure. To name but a few examples: after we enquired about the curtains in the bedrooms (due to a light-sleeping baby) she arranged for blackout blinds to be professionally installed in the bedroom in the few hours between the previous guests departing and our arrival. She also lent us her mother's microwave to sterilise baby milk bottles, and ensured the house was immaculate, including fresh flowers and some provisions for our first night, in case we hadn't had time to visit the shops. All in all, the holiday was really enjoyable and care-free for the whole family; I wouldn't hesitate in recommending 'Invitation to Tuscany'.

Mr. I.H. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Feb 2015
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We very much enjoyed our stay at Treggiaia

We very much enjoyed our stay at Treggiaia. The Villa itself is beautiful, very well equipped and comfortable, pool and garden area fantastic. The owner Michaela was very friendly and on hand when necessary - especially as we arrived late! All in all we were really happy with our choice and we would recommend Treggiaia as a lovely place to stay and explore Arezzo. We intend to come back out again this year and would not hesitate to rebook.

Mr. J.K. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Dec 2015
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We had a wonderful and relaxing week at Treggiaia..

We had a wonderful and relaxing week at Treggiaia - couldn’t fault it at all!

The weather fantastic, so much so that other than a couple of trips to COOP, we only went to Florence (took the train - fantastic!) and Arezzo . . . and of course the Prada outlet!

Spent the rest of the time playing tennis, swimming and generally chilling out by the pool which was exactly what we all needed. Steve also hired a road bike from Greve and had a great time exploring the area on two wheels.

Nonna and her grandson were lovely and very welcoming. The welcome goodies were very gratefully received as were Nonna’s bruschettas on Sunday morning.

As always, everyone at Invitation to Tuscany make it so easy and stress-free to arrange a holiday, it’s a pleasure to book with you.

Thanks again

Mr. and Mrs. S.E. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Dec 2016
Dimora

Dimora

Dimora

Our family stayed for a week in June. We particularly liked the large well equipped kitchen and its proximity to the dining table outside. Good range of seating options. Great garden and walks out of the house into woods and vineyards. Ask about extra charges when you book as it’s quite complicated. We asked for a selection of wines from the estate and that worked really well. We like simple rustic Tuscan rural homes with plenty of space around and Dimora certainly met the brief.

John & Melanie from UK staying in Dimora. Jun 2023
Dimora

Dimora

Wonderful and Relaxing!

We loved our stay at Dimora. Communication prior to our visit was excellent. Our hosts were wonderful and accommodating and were readily available but gave us a lot of privacy. Dimora is a traditional country house in the beautiful hills of the Chianti region but with the updates to make ones stay very comfortable- including AC. The pool was spectacular. We were close to many of the wonderful places to visit in Tuscany but remote enough to really feel the pleasures of Italian country living. Would highly recommend and would return for another visit!

Emily from US staying in Dimora. Aug 2022
Dimora

Dimora

Perfect for a family holiday

The property was exactly as described and proved to be just right for our family holiday with three generations. Contact with the property manager was easy and all our questions answered quickly.

Susan and family staying in Dimora. Jun 2022
Dimora

Dimora

Ruhige wunderschöne Villa mit viel Platz

Die Villa hat viele verschiedene Schlafzimmer und Bäder. Die Küche aus groß und bietet alles was benötigt wird. Besonders gefallen haben und die vielen Sitzmöglichkeiten im großen Garten. Der Pool ist groß und sehr sauber. Die ruhige Lage war ein Traum. Die Besitzer waren sehr nett und hilfreich und als Willkommensgeschenk waren Wein, Olivernöl und einige Lebenmittel in der Küche. Es hat uns sehr gut gefallen.

Markus from Germany staying in Dimora. Jun 2022
Dimora

Dimora

Mooie Toscaanse villa

Mooie Toscaanse villa met voldoende slaap- en badkamers voorzien van airconditioning wat heerlijk was ivm zeer hoge temperaturen. Heerlijke terrassen om in de vroege ochtendzon van een kop koffie te genieten of de lange mooie avonden. Perfect gelegen om de grote steden zoals Florence en Siena te bezoeken maar ook kleine plaatsjes als Saint'Appiano, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Tavernelle, etc. Zwembad zorgt ook voor veel vertier.

Ruud and family staying in Dimora. Aug 2021
Dimora

Dimora

Beautifully equipped, very spacious and one really feels almost like at home

We rented the house for two weeks with two families (3 teenagers and 4 adults). The house is beautifully equipped, very spacious and one really feels almost like at home. There was food and wine waiting for us when we arrived. That was a very nice treat! The pool is absolutely amazing, the bedrooms and bathrooms are well furnished and beautifully decorated, almost like in a hotel. The kitchen is very big, and since we cooked and baked almost everyday, we really enjoyed the bountifully equipped kitchen. In walking distance there is a wonderful Osteria (great food!), and the next supermarket can be reached in 5 minutes by car. The house is located well off of a street, so that it is very peaceful and quiet there. The house is surrounded by beautiful vineyards and olive trees. The garden is huge, there are so many places to sit in the shade for reading and relaxing that we never even used them all. There was a little problem with the pool's electric, but when we reported it, the owner had it fixed by an electrician the same day. Unfortunately the wifi is very poor due to the fact that the house is so far out in the country. It is sufficient for sending a text message or an email with attachments, but don't expect to stream anything. Since my husband and I had a work video conference, we talked to the owner about it and he gladly offered help by letting us use his work office in Barberino for the conference. That was very thoughtful, thank you, Guido! Communication with the owner was easy and delightful. We really loved our stay there and would love to come back again!

V.K. and family, from Germany staying in Dimora. Aug 2021
Dimora

Dimora

Another wonderful week

Caro Guido, another wonderful week in Dimora, our second year. We will definitely be back next year and the next and the next!

A.W. from UK staying in Dimora. Aug 2020
Dimora

Dimora

Fantastic as usual

Thank you for your hospitality and kindness that made our stay fantastic as usual. The home-cooking by Pieranna adds a touch that you cannot find anywhere else in Tuscany. The Chianti region is beautiful also in autumn.

Anon staying in Dimora. Aug 2020
Dimora

Dimora

Another wonderful week in Dimora

Caro Guido, another wonderful week in Dimora, our second year. We will definitely be back next year and the next and the next!

A.W. UK staying in Dimora. Feb 2020
Scuderia

Scuderia

....it couldn't have been more charming

We had an extraordinary time — it couldn't have been more charming. We are utterly in love with Pieve, Emiliano, the whole family. Thank you so very very much for your insights and tips and for completely understanding what we were looking for for this bohemian elegance and relaxation palace. We hope to be back!

E.G. family staying in Scuderia. Jun 2018
Aceronina

Aceronina

A great week in the Tuscan countryside

We recently spent a week at Aceronina with members of our family, celebrating major birthdays and important anniversaries. We could hardly have chosen a better location! The views go on for ever in several directions, and never failed to delight, even on the day when storm clouds came sweeping in from the south.

The accommodation is spacious and extremely well equipped and comfortable, and the kitchen has everything you could ask for if you want to cook for yourself. However, you would be denying yourself a great deal if you didn’t explore at least some of the fine restaurants to be found in the area. We really enjoyed dinner at Osteria Rinaldi, in Piazze, just 5 minutes down the road, and the carnivores in the group raved about the mixed grill enjoyed at the restaurant at the castle in Radico-fani. However, the highlight was the celebratory dinner prepared and served for us “at home”. We really appreciated all the help received from Invitation to Tuscany in booking the week, and spe-cially in helping organise our special dinner.

Lounging by the pool was an important part of our stay, but there is also a great deal of interest in the surrounding area. A week was way too short a time, but besides Radicofani and Piazze, we were also able to visit San Casciano dei Bagni and Montalcino, (home of the famous Brunello wine, but also home to a very interesting leather goods store). Siena was also within easy reach for a day’s outing.

Altogether it was a wonderful week, and special thanks must go to Olivia, the owner, for providing such comfortable, well equipped surroundings.

Neville & family from Canada staying in Aceronina. May 2023
Aceronina

Aceronina

The villa was even better than expected

Our stay at Aceronina was the favorite part of our trip. The villa was even better than expected....Very spacious and lovely...especially the view. We got lost (followed the GPS) on the way and Olivia, the owner came to get us and lead us to the villa. We also had someone recommended by Olivia come in one night to fix a wonderful dinner for us.

Also thanks to Dan of Invitation to Tuscany for all your help. Any time I had questions, they were promptly answered and much help was offered. Would definitely do this again.

S L S from NC, USA staying in Aceronina. Sep 2018
Valdera

Valdera

We had a fantastic time at Valdera

We had a fantastic time at Valdera. The people we met in association with the villa were so friendly and helpful. Any contact we made always had a quick response with a smile.

Valdera was spotless and the bedding and towels were of a good standard. An expected nice touch was the offer of a change of towels mid week. The sun towels were also really lovely to use.

It was great to be able to walk to the village shop and the restaurant was of a much better standard than I imagined it would be, which is lovely if you return a few times. The chef was also really friendly.

The location of Valdera is brilliant. We had a great time visiting the towns and cities (this is our first time to Tuscany and the first time in a private villa).

Dan kindly recommended a restaurant for us to go to on our route from Arrezzo to Iano which we couldn't access as there was an old car rally taking place in the village of the restaurant. Unsure of where to eat, we carried on and ended up asking in the Tourist Office at Gambassi for a recommendation. I don't know whether it was the relief of finding somewhere pleasant to eat with extreme hunger 😊 but we all really enjoyed sitting in and eating in Beltempo Ristorante www.beltemporistorante.com. It is a new modern restaurant in the town and it was extremely pleasant. I would say it is great for lunch and is informal. It was one of those places where you hope they succeed as the service, enthusiasm, food and atmosphere was lovely.

C.B. and family staying in Valdera. Feb 2017
Valdera

Valdera

A perfect Tuscan Villa

Wonderful views, fantastic facilities A perfect Tuscan Villa capable of sleeping 8 people, even though we are only 4! Very comfortable beds, great bathrooms, kitchen fully equipped and washing facilities. Swimming pool, although too cold to use it! Situated in the heart of the Tuscan hills with so Kant interesting places to visit close by. Train to Florence, Siena very easy too.

Paul and Guest staying in Valdera. Aug 2017
Valdera

Valdera

We had a wonderful time at Valdera

We had a wonderful time at Valdera. It's a lovely house in such a beautiful place! The house was great and we were impressed with how well the gardens and pool were tended. It felt remote enough but great to be able to walk to a shop and restaurant. My only comment would be that it could be better equipped with 'basics' - bin liners, food storage bags or boxes, matches etc. Also non-breakable stuff to take down to the pool.

We ate at Antico Borgo in the village. It was nice to be able to walk and it's a straightforward restaurant with pizza and pasta. Lovely views from the outside area. We made the mistake of not booking on the last night so had to eat inside - it seems to get busy at weekends. We had breakfast in the other cafe - La Chicca, which was nice. The village shop is really good and well stocked, although expensive compared with the supermarket.

Dan asked for comments about our hotel in Lucca. We stayed in L'Antica Bifore which we loved. It is a four room b&b in the centre and our room was in part of a medieval tower. It was very relaxed, a friendly couple and lovely breakfast. Parking not very convenient if you had lots of luggage. We had dinner at da Pasquale which was the best meal of our trip. Pasquale was the most amazing, enthusiastic and knowledgeable host who looked after his guests so well. He gave us a bottle of olive oil which we enjoyed through our holiday!

J.S. staying in Valdera. Feb 2017
Artist's Retreat

Artist's Retreat

A lovely time at the Artist’s Retreat

Excellent location for exploring the area and the nearby town of Ambra which at first sight seems sleepy but boasts good restaurants and bursts into life at the weekend. The property is well looked after, is spacious, well equipped and looks out over the nearby hills. The manager is very helpful and has helped decorate the apartment with very interesting sculptures and paintings! If you get the chance, hire the local cook to cook a meal for you, eating it al fresco was a real treat Thoroughly recommend the Artists retreat.

Neil from UK staying in Artist's Retreat. Sep 2022
Artist's Retreat

Artist's Retreat

A fantastic stay in Tuscany

We loved to stay at this beautiful house, great location and amazing host. The area is nice and quiet.

Khalid staying in Artist's Retreat. Aug 2022
Artist's Retreat

Artist's Retreat

A perfect rural stay

We are on a 6 week Italian holiday and booked this beautiful Villa in middle of our trip . Was perfectly timed after a busy few weeks to relax in such a beautiful setting was magic . Loved the personal touches - bottle of wine in fridge, bowl of fresh fruit and fresh flowers . The pool is amazing and the peaceful surroundings are just as I imagined. Can not rate this villa highly enough .

Andrea staying in Artist's Retreat. Aug 2022
Casa Carina

Casa Carina

A True Umbrian Escape

Casa Carina is a smaller villa full of rustic charm, located well off the beaten track. We had a super week here, surrounded by the sights and sounds of unspoiled nature - in particular there were lots of butterflies. The pool was ideal, very refreshing on a hot day and the villa had pleasant outdoor spaces to relax and unwind, along with pretty walks on the doorstep. There was ample room for the four of us (good to have the two en-suite bathrooms) and we experienced it all in some of the best and worst weather. We were glad we to have a pack of cards and decent TV with Casting option when the rain was pouring down and the wind was howling!

Mario was an excellent host, always responsive and able to offer help and advice as required. We were very grateful to have a selection of wine and groceries waiting for us on our arrival after a long day of travelling. The kitchen could have been slightly better equipped but it was adequate for our needs. We cooked a few meals ourselves and also enjoyed eating out at a couple of excellent local restaurants (Osteria La Cruccola in Acqualoreto and Kairos in Izzalini).

We made trips to Todi (the nearest town), Assisi, Orvieto and Florence (a long but brilliant day). The duomo in Orvieto was particularly awe-inspiring! We visited Trebotti organic winery on our return from Orvieto for a fascinating tour and tasting experience. Definitely recommend!

Do heed the advice regarding the track to the villa - it has some extremely steep gradients to negotiate which are not for the faint hearted! A 4x4 would cope fine (would definitely recommend), but if you have a front wheel drive hatchback like we did then you might want to disable the traction control when you leave the main road. We got used to it though and it's worth the effort for the view when you get there - all part of the adventure!

Angela from UK staying in Casa Carina. Aug 2023
Pinolo

Pinolo

Lovely country location

Pinolo is situated in a beautiful picturesque location. It's an easy walk to the village (learning about the lift to the top of the town early is essential!). The setting is gorgeous with a lovely pool and countryside around. The accommodation itself seems a little tired in terms of furnishings, appliances and utensils and the bathroom is definitely utilitarian but if you don't mind quaint then this will be fine for you. Unfortunately the pool towels we had requested (and paid for) weren't left for us, and the single bed in the second bedroom wasn't made up (again as requested). These were attended once we raised it. All in all we had a lovely stay at Pinolo and would love to return - ideally after a bit of an upgrade of facilities.

Vincent from NZ staying in Pinolo. Jun 2023
Pinolo

Pinolo

Another glorious week!

My sister, a friend and I spent another wonderfully relaxing week here. We had stayed here last year and couldn't wait to return. Thank you to Katia and family for making us so welcome again. The wine that they produced was delicious and it was so nice to have the chance to try it. We had inadvertently timed our stay during the local Palio so we were able to enjoy the festivities too! I couldn't imagine a better location to stay as not only is it peaceful with beautiful views towards SAN GIMIGNANO , but it is a short walk into the little town of Casole d'Elsa which was a favourite place for morning coffee and breakfast. The kitchen facilities in the apartment are perfect which also enabled us to prepare simple lunches before returning to the beautiful pool.

We definitely plan to return to Pinolo and find it difficult to make any suggestions which could improve our stay next time !(perhaps bigger, softer pillows?)

Claudine & friends from UK staying in Pinolo. Jul 2023
Pinolo

Pinolo

Being able to walk into Casole D’Elsa is a big bonus

Had a great last minute stay in Pinolo and received fabulous service from Dan – he came up with exactly what we were looking for. The apartment is in a superb location – being able to walk into Casole D’Elsa is a big bonus plus there are lots of great restaurants to choose from. There is also a supermarket within walking distance that is well stocked (not obvious from the road that it is actually a supermarket!). Apartment is well kept and has everything you need (no oven so need to bear that in mind) and has great views. The pool area is another added bonus. Overall this is a great base to visit the beautiful Tuscan countryside.

C.S. and family staying in Pinolo. Sep 2020
Pinolo

Pinolo

A peaceful, tranquil and restful stay in Tuscany

Our second stay at Pinolo only confirmed what we always felt about the place, the location, accommodation and amenities are, without doubt, exactly what is required for a peaceful, tranquil and restful stay in Tuscany. The first floor entrance is adjacent to the rear door to the owners accommodation and their kindness and generosity of spirit was wonderful, they gave us homemade cake, wine and ice creams and were always on hand for help and advice. The kitchen could perhaps do with being a little better equipped and the size of the drinking glasses a little small for beer drinkers, but on a score from 100 we would give it 99.5!

C.B. and family, UK staying in Pinolo. Jun 2013
Pinolo

Pinolo

...everything one would need for a holiday

Stayed at Pinolo in Casole d'Elsa - good sized apartment for 4 people, very clean and tidy and everything one would need for a holiday. Pool was a nice size with plenty of loungers/ seats around - and my favourite, a hammock hanging between 2 olive trees! 5 mins walk to nearest pizza house (which did pastries for breakfast too) and the local produce stocked supermarket and about a 15 mins walk to the town - which is beautiful with a good handful of restaurants and bars. Invitation to Tuscany - Very helpful in terms of booking and finding us something that would suit us and our small-ish children. Would highly recommend

H.B. and family, UK staying in Pinolo. Dec 2017
Pinolo

Pinolo

Fantastic holiday made even better by the welcoming owners

We were heartily welcomed by the owners, whose grasp of English was only marginally better than our Italian, but after creating a raport with suitable "thumbs up" hand signals to indicate our pleasure with the appartment, she moved on to describe the operation of the dishwasher in Italian, which was probably a little over-optimistic.

The Apartment was just perfect for 4 and had plenty of space in the lounge/dining area for relaxing out of the sun. Breakfast was often taken on the patio area overlooking the countryside - just fabulous. After a quick swim in the "its alright once you are in" pool, it was down to some serious sunbathing on the loungers - and there are more than enough for everyone. Lunch by the pool on a table conveniently located under a shady pergola with even better views and San Gim in the background. Afternoons spent relaxing - although sometimes interspersed with awesome thunder and lightning over the valleys!

Locals towns provide a good evenning entertainment, even Casola D'Elsa seemed to have enough going on to keep us going back, despite its small size. This place has everything you need for a quiet week or so, but a car is a must for getting about and shopping, the local supermarket and shops are limited.

Fantastic holiday made even better by the welcoming owners - even turned up with free homemade pizza and wine at 11pm one night, which we ate and drank in the moonlight! We would return tomorrow.

C.B. and friends, UK staying in Pinolo. Dec 2009
Pinolo

Pinolo

Charming hosts, beautiful, quiet, relaxed setting

You know that scary feeling you get when you book accommodation on the internet that looks wonderful in the photos, but you're sure it couldn't possibly be that wonderful? Well, rest assured, Pinolo is wonderful! Charming hosts, beautiful, quiet, relaxed setting, yet still close to village. We stayed in the two bedroom upstairs apartment. Very clean, rustic and charming. I will always remember the view from the upstairs window - you can see the towers of San Gimignano in the distance. So many beautiful places to visit nearby, beautiful Tuscan countryside. We'll be back!

Mr. A.G. and family, Australia staying in Pinolo. Dec 2010
Pinolo

Pinolo

Looking forward to returning

Situated in the heart of Chianti in Tuscany, this villa is in walking distance of a lovely village with restaurants and a weekly BBQ on the village plaza which is a must! The hosts are most welcoming and the Pinolo villa offers excellent views! Great sightseeing in the region. The hosts wine is worth the purchase. The outdoor pool is large and always clean. We are looking forward to returning.

Mrs. J.G. and family, Canada staying in Pinolo.
Pinolo

Pinolo

We will definitely return

We stayed at Pinolo last summer and would highly recommend it. The location is excellent - within walking distance of the local village, and right in the heart of Tuscany. The family who own the property were incredibly welcoming and one evening we were brought homemade cake and a bottle of their own wine. Delicious. Having the pool also helped hugely on hot days. We will definitely return.

Mrs. C.J. and family, UAE staying in Pinolo. Feb 2011
Pinolo

Pinolo

The owners are lovely and produce their own wine and olive oil

The farm house is a little outside the village which is uphill and easily reached by car, bike or by foot. The latter will maybe take 30 mins. The apartment is on the first floor in the main building with its own entry. The two bedrooms have sufficient space for 5 and the living & dining room as well. In case you like outside dining you need to take note that you have to go downstairs, which is not very practical. There is a small outside sitting area, good for two and a glass of wine in the evenings. The pool is nice and the gardens (vineyard, olives) are lovely. The farm is a on a hill itself which allows for a cooling breeze and nice views. The owners are lovely and produce their own wine and olive oil. A good price compared to many other locations we saw on-line.

Mr. R.V.W and family, Switzerland staying in Pinolo. Feb 2013
Pinolo

Pinolo

...beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside

Our apartment, Pinolo, was spacious and well equipped with beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside from every window. The building is a traditional farmhouse which added to it's charm and there were plenty of outside spaces to relax in. We found it a very convenient base to explore Tuscany, not far from San Gimignano, Siena, Orvieto and Florence.

Mr. K.M. and family, UK staying in Pinolo. Dec 2014
Pinolo

Pinolo

.....we liked it so much, we would consider hiring the entire complex the next time

We knew we wanted to stay in Tuscany but could not find the ideal location. After stumbling across 'Welcome to Tuscany', the helpful staff recommended we stay at a charming, converted Tuscan farm house in the heart of Tuscany upon the outskirts of the small village of Casole'd Elsa. Father and sons the three of us set off from Carcassonne, and thus arrived late at Pinolo and Rustico after a beautiful, but winding drive through the Alpes and across the fateful Rubicon. Upon arrival the owner kindly stayed to greet us, which set the scene for the rest of the holiday; as the owners who lived on site worked tirelessly to ensure the accommodation and surrounding grounds were kept immaculate whilst remaining innocuous but there to help if needed. Both apartments well equipped with original features and large luxurious bedrooms. The complex was landscaped throughout with thoughtful touches like flowers and charming Cypress trees which framed the gentle descent from farmhouse to pool. The Village was a short walk on foot and although small it was a lovely example of some of the bigger and more impressive Casole's situated in Tuscany. With a great selection of Restaurants - in particular the Enoteca which runs a set course that changed each night of the week and friendly English speaking owners. Beware of 'White Tuesdays', when the whole towns descends to paint the town, 'white' (called so because they do not sleep - like another day and something of a tradition in much of Tuscany) In terms of location Casole d'Elsa was perfectly situated to explore the well known likes of Sienna, Florence and San Gimignano (recommend Quattro Gatti for super!) but also the lesser known, and less spoilt towns such as Volterra (see the Etruscan tombs - utterly fascinating - like steeping down through the gates of Hades explored in Homer's literature), Montalcino and the medieval walled city of Monteriggioni. For those who love red wine, not more could be asked in this delightful region; and a pilgrimage to Saasicaia and the aforementioned Montalcino is well worth it. We like it so much, we would consider hiring the entire complex the next time and bringing all our friends!

Mr T.H. and family staying in Pinolo. Dec 2014
Pinolo

Pinolo

highly recommended

We stayed in the upper floor of the farmhouse (Pinolo) at Agriturismo Elvira. The accommodation was great for our family of 4. A lovely large room for living/dining/cooking, plus 2 bedrooms and bathroom. There are pretty garden areas and terraces around the house where you can sit or eat al fresco with amazing views of the Tuscan and Chianti hills. The outdoor swimming pool and surrounding garden was great too! The hill town of Casole d'Elsa is a 15 - 20 minute walk with a good range of small shops plus some excellent places to eat and drink. Highly recommended

Mr. T.J. and family, UK staying in Pinolo. Dec 2015
Pinolo

Pinolo

...it has my highest credentials

We duly returned from Casole Saturday. There were no problems /breakages, the accommodation was perfect and the hosts very charming. All in all I would recommend to anyone and it has my highest credentials. We visited all around and had a great time. Thanks again for all your help

Mr T.H. and family, France staying in Pinolo. May 2014
Pinolo

Pinolo

A fantastic stay at Pinolo

We had a fantastic stay at Pinolo - beautiful part of the country. The accomodation was great, very authentic Tuscan farm feel while providing most of what we needed. The only suggestion would be for them to improve the WiFi reception within Pinolo itself. It was a bit hit and miss at times. Also to provide basic soap and shower gel. It was a bit of a surprise to us that this wasn't provided. Otherwise it was superb, and we really enjoyed having the private pool available to us. We also really enjoyed the local town of Casole d'Elsa. The pizza restaurant in particular was very good for lunch - great value for money and excellent service. We also had an amazing dinner at the restaurant attached to the local hotel. Can't remember the name of the hotel but it's on the main road to the left as you leave the housing estate area. Thanks for making this property and experience available to us.

Mr R.D. and family, UK staying in Pinolo. Dec 2014
Pinolo

Pinolo

On a score from 100 we would give it 99.5!

Our second stay at Pinolo only confirmed what we always felt about the place, the location, accommodation and amenities are, without doubt, exactly what is required for a peaceful, tranquil and restful stay in Tuscany. The first floor entrance is adjacent to the rear door to the owners accommodation and their kindness and generosity of spirit was wonderful, they gave us homemade cake, wine and ice creams and were always on hand for help and advice. The kitchen could perhaps do with being a little better equipped and the size of the drinking glasses a little small for beer drinkers, but on a score from 100 we would give it 99.5!

Mr C.B. and friends, UK staying in Pinolo. Feb 2013
Pinolo

Pinolo

..Stayed there...and we loved it

I stayed here with my family when our son Ben was around 2 years old and we loved it. I know the village well, as it's where I grew up, so it was great to be able to walk in every morning - Ben and I would go in to buy breakfast for mum from the local cafe. The living room/ kitchen is large and comfortable, and the little loggia perfect for an evening drink with an ear out for sleeping children.

Dan R. and family staying in Pinolo. Dec 2012
Pinolo

Pinolo

...just right for a small family holiday

We felt so comfortable in this spacious apartment, with its lovely light and generous spaces just right for a small family holiday. The good-sized pool and the views of the vines to one side and the valley to the other are delightful. Strolling into Casole d'Elsa was so convenient for picking up supplies or going out for a good meal - truly an ideal location.

L. and L. staying in Pinolo. Dec 2015