We collect reviews directly from our clients via email and publish them here. We hope you enjoy reading through them as much as we do, they are a paper trail of happy memories!

Villa Amorosa

Villa Amorosa

Definitely our best villa in Tuscany all round in over 30 years.

Our stay was relaxed and trouble free. Very well equipped kitchen, BBQ and Pizza oven all worked well to ensure everyone was happy. AnnaMarie cooked two evenings - her food is delicious and very local in its style and ingredients. Only suggestion would be to put a toddler proof closure/latch on the gate to the pool enclosure to make the most of the fencing and to provide maximum peace of mind. The tennis court and equipment and pool were all excellent.

Definitely our best villa in Tuscany all round in over 30 years.

John and Melanie staying in Villa Amorosa. Jun 2022
Villa Amorosa

Villa Amorosa

Beautiful villa far off the beaten path

My extended family (6 adults, 1 infant) had a beautiful stay at Villa Amorosa. We especially enjoyed the swimming pool (completely fenced in; a plus for those with children!) and the screens in all of the windows (there were some bugs in the house, as it's a in a pretty rustic, remote locale, but the screens in the windows significantly cut down on that and allowed for a nice breeze). We also had a cook come in and prepare a beautiful meal (thank you for helping us set this up, Kim and Dan!) The house is a bit of a drive from the grocery store and town, but it worked wonderfully for us, and we'd highly recommend it to others looking for a relaxed, family-oriented stay.

J.P. staying in Amorosa. Jun 2022
Villa Amorosa

Villa Amorosa

Great property and location for our reunion with friends.

Property was great and Invitation to Tuscany were super helpful. however the property was missing a few things, eg bin bags and instructions for refuse / recycling. wifi was poor and inconsistent, no ice making facility, no dishwasher tablets, rinse aid and salt and clothes washing detergent. coffee making was inadequate for the property size, (2 x 2cup expresso makers). the master bedroom was full of the owners belongings so we had to live out of our suitcases! the BBQ / Oven had no equipment and didnt work owing to lack of fire bricks to raise grill from charcoals. we had a great stay but it would have been better if we had been advised of the above or it had been supplied.

Thanks Ben, I'll let the owner know - those items shouldn't have been missing, and the master bedroom can be easily cleared. The wifi is a mystery, we get different reports, but it's definitely not being consistent, we'll investigate. Cheers, Dan

Ben H from UK staying in Amorosa. Jul 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

A lovely relaxing place to stay

Our family had a wonderful stay at Treggiaia. The location is beautiful and the views exceptional. The lovely pool and tennis court meant we could keep cool and do a bit of exercise even on lazy days.

The station is only a short drive away meaning trips to Florence were easy to do. The owners were nearby and very charming and helpful.

Sarah Jordan & family from UK staying in Treggiaia. Jul 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

A great place to recharge

Amazing stay, in a nice secluded environment, a great place to recharge. Very nice owners they are very attentive to details. Would love to visit again soon!

Richard from NL staying in Treggiaia. May 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Great stay

The villa was a perfect stay, a bit out of the way but very peaceful.

Pool was amazing and Niccólo was incredibly helpful.

Air-conditioning in rooms was great and the villa had everything we needed.

Would recommend going back but make sure to have some itinerary items planned in advance so you know where to travel!

We went to Florence, San Gimigano, Siena and the Chianti region.

Thanks again! Danny and Hannah

Danny and Hannah staying in Treggiaia. May 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

Geweldige accommodatie!

We hebben 2 schitterende vakantie weken gehad in dit prachtige huis. Zwembad was fantastisch. Veel gebruik gemaakt van de mooi gelegen tennisbaan. Adembenemend uitzicht!

Alex from NL staying in Treggiaia. Jun 2022
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We had a most wonderful time in Treggiaia

We had a most wonderful time in Treggiaia. The location was perfect for us. Close enough to reach bigger cities and do sight seeing and out in the country for a restful holiday. The house was well equipped and the pool was lovely and well looked after. We also made use of the Tennis court which was great to have. The host family were an absolute delight. Very helpful with information and giving us a fantastic Tuscan experience. We enjoyed Treggiaia for its peacefulness and natural beauty. We had great fun exploring the surrounding villages and having day trips to Siena, Arrezzo and other places. Can’t really recommend any restaurants as we ate “at home” each night. Would certainly recommend it to other people.

Thank you also for being in touch with us before we went and sending us all the useful information and directions - it was much appreciated and helpful.

J. McN from UK staying in Treggiaia. Mar 2019
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

.....cannot recommend it highly enough

We had an absolutely wonderful time staying in Treggiaia and cannot recommend it highly enough. It was exactly what we hoped for when we imagined our trip to Tuscany. Set in beautiful countryside but within easy reach of Florence and other gems like Siena and San Gimignano, it was the perfect spot for exploring the area - although we also enjoyed our lazy days by the pool. The villa itself was charming and perfect for our needs (the pictures don't do it justice). What really made it such a special place to stay was the hosts, who made us feel welcome and at ease from the moment of our arrival. They were on hand whenever we needed them (for tourism tips or delicious homemade snacks) but very respectful of our privacy at all times.

We fully endorse the other reviews and comments on this site. If you are looking to get away from the stress of work and unwind in a beautiful scenery - or if you are looking for a base to explore Tuscan culture - this is the perfect spot. And the people are lovely too. We would definitely go back again.

H.C. staying in Treggiaia. Dec 2018
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We would definitely stay there again

We stayed at La Treggiaia at the beginning of June to celebrate my Mum's 60th birthday. We couldn't recommend it enough - the villa was the ideal base for a relaxing holiday exploring Tuscany.

The location is beautiful, overlooking the valley from the side terrace and surrounded by the grounds of the owners' farmhouse. The barn conversion has been done very tastefully and is spotlessly clean, the photos don't do it justice!

The owners were so welcoming, bringing over homemade bruschetta and answering any questions we had. We would definitely stay there again.

L.E. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Sep 2018
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We absolutely love Treggiaia

We absolutely love Treggiaia. The house is perfect, the pool is to die for and the surrounding scenery is wonderful. We have stayed twice now. The family really look after you, bringing little homemade treats for you. There are a couple of lovely restaurants in the nearby villages which are not too expensive. The train station is about 10 minutes away so a trip to Florence is a must. We were very fortunate this year to see the grape harvest taking place which is something we were in awe of !! Invitation to Tuscany are our "go to" company for our Italian holidays :-)

J.P. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Feb 2017
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We greatly enjoyed our holiday at Treggiaia

We greatly enjoyed our holiday at Treggiaia. It is a delightful property in a delightful spot, with a splendid pool and attentive owners on hand (who provided everything from fresh linen to fresh apricots!). There is a lovely covered terrace for outdoor eating, with nice views and complete privacy, with a tennis court on hand too. Being able to go to Florence and Arezzo by train from the local station was a real bonus (though finding parking at the station was a bit of a problem). As it was a heatwave throughout our stay, the air conditioning in the bedrooms was especially welcome.The house amenities, while quite adequate, do need a bit of refreshing though. For example, the bed had a protruding spring, and there were no dishes for the oven (though one was supplied immediately when we asked for it). But these are minor quibbles in relation to an exceptionally lovely property.

The location is somewhat off the usual tourist trail, which meant that only Italian was spoken locally and there is not the range of restaurants or other amenities that might normally be expected. What would have been really useful was a visitors' book (which is nearly always provided in properties we have stayed in) in which people can recommend places to visit, eat etc. There was some basic information provided by the property itself, but the absence of a visitors' book was a significant omission in terms of advice on where to go and what to do, especially useful in a less visited area.

But the main verdict is emphatically positive. It is a wonderful property. We would also add that it has been refreshing dealing with a travel company that delivers such a helpful and personal service to its clients.


Thank you very much for your comments about Treggiaia - we'll raise your points with the owner via email and also when we visit in September, and will also help her make a more complete house book, we have templates for that! Thanks, Dan W.

T.W. staying in Treggiaia. Oct 2017
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

...the holiday was really enjoyable and care-free

My family and I spent a lovely holiday in Tuscany last week, staying at Treggiaia. I just want to let you know that the service we received from 'Invitation to Tuscany' was excellent and pass on my thanks to you and the team. While we where there, the property owner, Michela, was also fantastic. She could not have been more accommodating and helpful, which made the holiday a real pleasure. To name but a few examples: after we enquired about the curtains in the bedrooms (due to a light-sleeping baby) she arranged for blackout blinds to be professionally installed in the bedroom in the few hours between the previous guests departing and our arrival. She also lent us her mother's microwave to sterilise baby milk bottles, and ensured the house was immaculate, including fresh flowers and some provisions for our first night, in case we hadn't had time to visit the shops. All in all, the holiday was really enjoyable and care-free for the whole family; I wouldn't hesitate in recommending 'Invitation to Tuscany'.

Mr. I.H. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Feb 2015
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We very much enjoyed our stay at Treggiaia

We very much enjoyed our stay at Treggiaia. The Villa itself is beautiful, very well equipped and comfortable, pool and garden area fantastic. The owner Michaela was very friendly and on hand when necessary - especially as we arrived late! All in all we were really happy with our choice and we would recommend Treggiaia as a lovely place to stay and explore Arezzo. We intend to come back out again this year and would not hesitate to rebook.

Mr. J.K. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Dec 2015
Treggiaia

Treggiaia

We had a wonderful and relaxing week at Treggiaia..

We had a wonderful and relaxing week at Treggiaia - couldn’t fault it at all!

The weather fantastic, so much so that other than a couple of trips to COOP, we only went to Florence (took the train - fantastic!) and Arezzo . . . and of course the Prada outlet!

Spent the rest of the time playing tennis, swimming and generally chilling out by the pool which was exactly what we all needed. Steve also hired a road bike from Greve and had a great time exploring the area on two wheels.

Nonna and her grandson were lovely and very welcoming. The welcome goodies were very gratefully received as were Nonna’s bruschettas on Sunday morning.

As always, everyone at Invitation to Tuscany make it so easy and stress-free to arrange a holiday, it’s a pleasure to book with you.

Thanks again

Mr. and Mrs. S.E. and family, UK staying in Treggiaia. Dec 2016
Pagliaio

Pagliaio

Overall we had a splendid time

The property is excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Annemarie was very welcoming and helpful with much information to share about the house and locality. The pool is splendid and we would have made more use had the weather been a little brighter. Kitchen is well equipped (once we had traced a coffee maker and some adapters for the plugs - thank you Annemarie!). Could do with a knife sharpener and a decent cook’s knife. We were not troubled as we brought our own. Another chopping board or two would also help. We would definitely revisit - the property lends itself easily to a small group or indeed a large family group. I don’t know how you would broach my final point but the road/drive leading to the property is not well maintained and the actual entrance to the property through the gates can be a little tricky to negotiate due to a poor surface and much gravel. Our large car with low profile tyres found that the surface was catching on the underside at times. This is a minor point but other visitors may find it a problem. Overall we had a splendid time - beds are very comfortable and we all slept very well. Location is great for trips around Tuscany with easy access to Siena and Florence by train.

A.M. staying in Pagliaio. Feb 2017
Pagliaio

Pagliaio

Such a pretty setting and such a pretty house

Such a pretty setting and such a pretty house. The estate is very well cared for by Annmarie its welcoming British owner and wandering around the extensive grounds and sitting by the pool, we felt such peace and tranquility. We loved the style, for though the furniture is not typically Tuscan, it all works so well.

L & L. staying in Pagliaio. Dec 2014
Pagliaio

Pagliaio

...a lovely stay at Pagliao

We had a lovely stay at Pagliao in August. The 2-bedroom, 2-storey converted barn was absolutely lovely. The pool was an excellent size, all of us enjoyed it immensely. The owner was very pleasant and friendly and provided us with helpful information about the local area.

Mrs. K.M. and family, UK staying in Pagliaio. Aug 2015
Pagliaio

Pagliaio

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pagliaio

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pagliaio and Tuscany overall. Anne-Marie was such a lovely person, very welcoming and incredibly helpful with any questions we had about the property, things to do and general logistics. A couple of minor issues with a few pieces of missing kitchen equipment were quickly sorted out. Anne-Marie was always around but also discreet so we could fully relax. We thought the accommodation was very high quality – very clean and stylish – lovely to have hand soap and kitchen cleaning items included. Also the grounds of the property were beautiful and very well looked after. A lovely place to chill out and get away from the humdrum of London. 2 minor points for improvement · Unfortunately we didn’t have the best of weather and so it was rather chilly in the evenings in the property so we would have appreciated some kind of heating option we could have controlled ourselves. · I would have appreciated an information folder in the “barn” as I like to hear what other guests have to say about the area and read about things to do. Although that said Anne-Marie did help a lot with this – she supplied us with a good road map, a Tuscany guide book (which supplemented the one we had already) and plenty of recommendations about where to go. Thank you for a lovely week – and for sorting this out so quickly for us.

Mrs. S.C. and family, UK staying in Pagliaio. Feb 2014
Villa Rapale

Villa Rapale

... happy to recommend it

We all had a wonderful time - the villa is beautiful and we all miss our time there already! The wine tour was excellent; Luca was far more than a driver - he was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and told us lots of great stories. The pizza night was good fun; it wasn't very successful as the lady that was making the pizzas was adapting to the size and temperature of the oven but that didn't spoil our enjoyment at all, and we all had plenty of food over the course of the evening. I'd return any time, and am happy to recommend it

A.S. family staying in Villa Rapale. Dec 2018
Villa Rapale

Villa Rapale

The house was perfect...

We had an absolutely fantastic time at Villa Rapale - the house was perfect, the views stunning and the faculties brilliant - the pool, pizza oven and tennis courts being particular favourites.

We will definitely be back!

Thanks to invitation to Tuscany for great service - everything ran very smoothly, the staff were very helpful with any queries and the booking process was very easy.

S.F.Family staying in Villa Rapale. Nov 2018
San Michele

San Michele

Absolutely amazing

San Michele was absolutely amazing, the grounds were incredible and so well kept, pool area superb, hosts so helpful and two delicious meals with them and vegetables from their veggie patch. Plus a tour of their wine cellar, quite something else. The layout of the villa suited us all so well, plenty of room to have our own space! The 18 month old loved going to see the animals in the morning and evening. Great value for money.

C.W. and family staying in San Michele. Feb 2018
San Michele

San Michele

We were very happy and satisfied with our stay

We were very happy and satisfied with our stay at San Michele. The beauty of the place and friendly welcome from Patricia made us feel so at home. We enjoyed Arezzo, shopping in Pam and some restaurants in town. We found an interesting steakhouse called Mama Mia! No pizza for kids but there's 🍝. A shopping center with Decathlon and Coop grocery store had nice selection of food and drinks. An outlet 29 km direction Sienna had good selection of brand in clothings, shoes and more.

A.T. and family staying in San Michele. Mar 2017
San Michele

San Michele

We had a wonderful time at San Michele!

We had a wonderful time at San Michele! The property itself is wonderful. We enjoyed the building itself which worked very well for our extended-family group. We loved walking the gardens and visiting the animals and our hosts were terrific. It was also great that the train in Arezzo was so convenient for day trips. Even though we had a rental car, sometimes the train was easier than dealing with parking at our destination. Things we loved the most: Cooking class offered by Patrizia and Pietro – this was so much fun! We all loved the experience and the wonderful food! Trip to Florence by train Two great restaurants in Arezzo: Pappa e Cena (Via Romana, 133, 52100 Arezzo AR, Italy) and Osteria Dei Mercanti (Via di Ser Petraccolo, 52100 Arezzo AR, Italy)

The one tip we have, at least for American guests is to rent a car with automatic transmission. The road up the hill is steep and narrow in places and we were glad to have an automatic, even though we know how to drive a manual transmission.

H. F. and family staying in San Michele. Feb 2017
San Michele

San Michele

This is a house made to be enjoyed

I visited San Michele at the end of a long day's driving; I had been out seeing a lot of houses around Tuscany and was tired. The welcome that Patrizia and Pietro gave me, coupled with one of the best views I have ever seen and a swimming pool perfectly placed to take advantage of it soon gave me my energy back. This is a building on a site redolent with history, lovingly nursed back to life after decades of being hidden under brambles - ask P & P to show you the photographs of what the site looked like when they bought it! This is a house made to be enjoyed - there are myriad delights down in the plains toward Arezzo and in the hills beyond, but this is a place where I would want to just lie by the pool, relax and soak in the astounding view, day after day. A favourite!

D.W. staying in San Michele. Sep 2016
San Michele

San Michele

The villa was everything it should be

We stayed at San Michele in Arezzo in Autumn and just had a fabulous time. The villa was everything it should be. The rooms were large, the views were fantastic and our host and hostess were incredibly helpful and welcoming. There were two washing machines and drying racks. The pool was fantastic. Our hosts, Patrizia and Pietro did a wonderful homemade pizza dinner for us, another fabulous dinner in their cantina and also invited us to a private party in their home. The linens were changed weekly including our comforter. Softer and or extra pillows would be nice. The villa was at the top of a small mountain and overlooked the entire town. The directions to the villa on our GPS were great. It is narrow in places but we drove a large van that held seven and it is doable. There is also an electric gate to go through so you could not possibly feel safer. The air conditioning worked as well as american a/c but we didn't need it except for the first few days. We slept with the windows open and it was heavenly. Windows were screened, but we did not notice any flies or mosquitos while there. There is an absolutely amazing bakery not far from the villa called Panificio Pandemonio in Arezzo. Their almond biscotti, raisin coffeecake, and breads are unbeatable - Don't miss it. There is also a fabulous grocery store, Ipercoop, that matches any from the U.S. Go to the deli meat section and splurge. All those wonderful meats and cheeses are half the price you'd pay back home.

Ms. D.P. and family, USA staying in San Michele. Dec 2009
San Michele

San Michele

We had a fantastic stay at San Michele5

We had a fantastic stay at San Michele. It was a really special place and Patrizia and Pedro fantastic hosts! To be honest, we didn't venture far as it was so lovely there. Would happily recommend it to people and hope to return!

Mrs. R.T. and family, UK staying in San Michele. Feb 2016
San Michele

San Michele

...we loved staying at San Michele and know you will too!

Wow! On our recent visit we were amazed by the villa's setting, its breathtaking views, and the pool which shone like a gem in the night sky. We were impressed by the quality of the interior, especially its lovely linens and chic bathrooms. The pergola was a favourite spot where we enjoyed breakfasting and a fun pizza evening; we even ate some bits from the lovely vegetable garden as guests are invited to do. Patrizia and Pietro were perfect hosts at an incredible dinner in their wonderful home with a view you must see to believe - we loved staying at San Michele and know you will too!

L & L. staying in San Michele. Nov 2014
Eremo

Eremo

...the perfect spot to gather together our large family

Dear Arthur, Martha, Henry & Teddy — Eremo was the perfect spot to gather together our large family. The setting from the villa to the pool to the beautiful scenery was fantastic. The pool was a favorite gathering spot in the afternoons and we enjoyed several relaxing evenings dining on the chef’s wonderful meals. Thank you for creating such a wonderful villa to visit.

C&B S, Conneticut, USA staying in Eremo. Sep 2016
Eremo

Eremo

...the perfect spot for our family group of 14

Villa Eremo and all its charms have been the perfect spot for our family group of 14 to be together to help celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Over the past four weeks, this formed our base for exploring Tuscany & over to Venice, on to Cinque Terre, down to the Amalfi Coast, Rome and even a day of boating on Lake Trasimeno. Everyone felt very special in our beautiful bedrooms decorated so beautifully with lovely linens and draperies. Our evenings playing card games, reading, sharing stories and laughter in the roomy family room & of course the pool. A special shout out & mille grazie to the staff who could not do enough for us. The chef’s special torta della Nonna — twice! during our stay made everything even more wonderful. Arrivederci & grazie

The R. family, Conneticut, USA staying in Eremo. Jun 2016
Eremo

Eremo

...a perfect venue for a group gathering

We had a fabulous time at your beautiful villa. It is a perfect venue for a group gathering. The staff and the lovely chefs were so wonderful and accommodating. Many thanks for a wonderful vacation!

Carolyn & David W., Kristine & Rick S staying in Eremo. Jun 2017
Eremo

Eremo

..perfect for our large family

Thank you for making our stay so special. It was perfect for our large family, the staff were very kind and helpful. The pool was an excellent way to spend long, hot days during our stay. We also appreciate all the support leading up to our arrival. The property is very special and we will always have great memories from our stay.

K and R s. and family, UK and Mumbai staying in Eremo. Dec 2017
Eremo

Eremo

It was truly a fairy tale!

Words cannot express our heartfelt gratitude for your hospitality and for making all of our wedding dreams come true. We had a wedding in a beautiful villa with the hills of Tuscany in the background surrounded by all our favourite people. It was truly a fairy tale! We enjoyed every minute spent at Eremo and all the great experiences we shared. What wonderful memories!

K, P, J, S and E from Ontario staying in Eremo. May 2012
Eremo

Eremo

..the most amazing seven days imaginable

Thanks to our hosts and their wonderful staff for making our stay at Eremo the most amazing seven days imaginable. Whether it was lazing by the pool side on hot sunny afternoons, enjoying a glass of wine on one of the many patios, the fabulous dinners in the dining room, or watching the sun set over the Tuscan hills, every moment was a dream come true. On behalf of all of our family and friends who stayed here with us, thank you

Tom & Jane, Ontario staying in Eremo. Dec 2012
Eremo

Eremo

Thanks for the great hospitality

Thanks for the great hospitality. The villa is beautiful and we enjoyed our stay. Italy is also beautiful and we cannot wait to come back. Special thanks to Rosetta, Roberta and Simone for taking great care of us. The dinners were spectacular!

Mike and Jean, VA staying in Eremo. Feb 2012
Eremo

Eremo

This is our second stay

A wonderful week with family – such a beautiful villa. Lovely fragrances, excellent dinners with Roberto. Rosetta & Simone – such wonderful people and so pleasant and helpful. Rosetta made our stay a great pleasure. Also a great thunderstorm over the valley – quite a spectacular light and sound show. Pool lovely – a respite from the heat. This is our second stay – enjoyed it so much.

Ann & John, Ontario staying in Eremo. Dec 2012
Eremo

Eremo

An unsurpassed ‘villa’ experience

Thank you Rosetta and Simone for two wonderful weeks. Eremo is a great family home. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. This is a magical place for family and close friends to enjoy. An unsurpassed ‘villa’ experience.

J.B. from California staying in Eremo. Feb 2012
Eremo

Eremo

...the villa was wonderful & the staff fantastic

Just got home and wanted to thank you personally for all your help particularly on our first day . The trip was great - the villa was wonderful & the staff fantastic. Please accept our sincerest thanks for all your kindness and help

Mr. R.C. and family, USA staying in Eremo. Dec 2011
Villa di Mezzo

Villa di Mezzo

Relaxing week at Villa di Mezzo

We found the villa spacious and well-appointed in a lovely garden area. The pool was ideal for our party from a 1 year old to adults. There are plenty of places to sit from full sun to shade and a good choice of outdoor furniture. It is so peaceful and private that we found it very relaxing; in fact we had most of our meals there on the covered terrace which is a great space.

We found the village shop handy and very friendly and the larger supermercato is a short drive away with everything we needed - we loved the spremuta machine!

The villa is convenient for Pisa Airport and Livorno is a nice day out, including an Aquarium which is great fun for children. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Mark and family staying in Villa di Mezzo. Jul 2022
Villa di Mezzo

Villa di Mezzo

...the best Villa I have ever stayed in

This is without doubt the best Villa I have ever stayed in in all my years travelling to Tuscany through Invitation to. From the size to the furnishings, layout, kitchen and ambience. Down a track surrounded by trees the seclusion is excellent. It is a little slice of heaven. The personal touches inside the Villa no doubt collected over the years by the owner gives the villa a homely touch with many interesting things to look at (Check out the downstairs bathroom to learn a bit about the owner!) even that piqued our interest 😊. The pool is an oasis in the garden with shaded areas to escape from the midday sun (parasols not necessary!) During our time there we didn’t once eat inside - the arched covered outdoor table will accommodate all your needs with a handy barbecue for alfresco dining adding to the delight.

We arrived to a welcome hamper from the owner with delights including the usual authentic Italian delights, local honey, Jam and of course a lovely local Red Wine with Prosecco chilling already in the fridge. Sonia - with limited English (better than my Italian) showed us around the place but we are experts on Tuscan Villas. Everywhere was of course safe (Covid) and immaculately clean. With fresh sheets after the first 5 days it was a home from home.

If you want somewhere close to the Airport at Pisa this is the perfect place. With the coast also near a day at the beach is highly recommended. There is good information in the Villa on local shopping, eating and touristic stuff with personal recommendations included.

All in all, considering the times we are in this is the perfect retreat to get away from it all. The Villa is so special you wouldn’t actually need to leave it as long as you had enough food and drink in stock! We certainly didn’t want to leave.

J.K. and family staying in Villa di Mezzo.
Villa di Mezzo

Villa di Mezzo

...struck by the calm serenity of the place

I first visited this house in September 2019 and I was struck by the calm serenity of the place, surrounded by a Mediterranean forest, within its own fenced grounds. It feels like a real retreat from the world, yet Pisa, Livorno, Florence and Lucca are all close by - and the coast is at less than 20 minutes drive too. The house itself is elegantly decorated - the owners are diplomats and there are clues to their postings around the world in the decor. Since then we've had guests staying here for long "workcations" as well as shorter week-long stays for family get-togethers - it works well for either, with easy access to Pisa Airport, fast wifi and air-conditioning throughout. In May 2021 I pass by again mainly to check how long the walk is into the village, and whether the cafe/bar was still open. It's a beautiful house and I can highly recommend it.

D.W. staying in Villa di Mezzo. Feb 2021
Massimo

Massimo

Highly recommend this estate

Montestigliano was recommended to me by a friend, who said great things about her stay there in 2010. I looked at other sites in the general area, but nothing seemed better than her recommendation. The villa had everything we needed for a very comfortable week's stay in the Tuscan countryside, and bucket-loads of charm as well. The whole estate is picture-book perfect. There are numerous walking trails, including one to the nearest village where good coffee can be had. 2 pools (one designated for families) operate in the warmer months. We did not miss having a TV. Good WiFi kept us connected with the world (when we wanted to be). The estate is a short drive from the nearest small town for essential supplies, and less than 30 minutes' drive from Siena - a magical place that we went back to a number of times over the week. The opportunity to join other guests for a traditional Sienese dinner was fantastic. The estate's own olive oil is a wonderful product, which we made use of while we were there (and would have liked to take home, except our baggae limits wouldn't allow it!). Highly recommend this estate - I doubt you will have a better experience, and staff will do everything they can to make your stay memorable!

Anonymous guests, Australia staying in Massimo. Dec 2012
Scuderia

Scuderia

....it couldn't have been more charming

We had an extraordinary time — it couldn't have been more charming. We are utterly in love with Pieve, Emiliano, the whole family. Thank you so very very much for your insights and tips and for completely understanding what we were looking for for this bohemian elegance and relaxation palace. We hope to be back!

E.G. family staying in Scuderia. Jun 2018
Rustico

Rustico

We stayed at Rustico the last week of May ...it was HEAVEN!!!

We stayed at Agriturismo Elvira - Rustico the last week of May in Casole d'Elsa. It was HEAVEN!!! Elvira was warm and welcoming and took care of us as if we were part of her own family. I stayed there with my husband, friend and toddler and it was a place never to be forgotten by any of us. The grounds are immaculately kept, the apartment (Rustico) was super clean and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. It was cold but we even used the great swimming pool. My son loved running around the property and we loved sitting out in the sun and having a meal. This is a place that we will be going to for years to come! It is also a fairly short drive from Siena and an hour and a half drive from Florence. I recommend renting a car as it makes it a whole lot easier to see the beauty that surrounds this home. This home exceeded our expectations. Thank you Elvira!

Mrs. S-J and family, USA staying in Rustico. May 2015
Rustico

Rustico

...really enjoyed our recent stay at Rustico

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Rustico. We thought the property was in a beautiful setting with spectacular views. The owners were lovely and very helpful and certainly made us welcome. The pool was one of the highlights of the property and was perfect for our 8 yr old daughter.

The villa was as described on your website apart from the TV was missing and it took 3 days to get this setup to watch. We felt the villa was also missing a few basic supplies, like kitchen roll, oven glove, toilet rolls, soap, which we had to purchase. I think the most useful information that would have been nice to know at the beginning of our vacation was that there was a supermarket less than a mile down the street. There was no mention of this in the folder in the villa or in the information emailed to us. We only found out from the owners towards the end of our visit, after spending almost a whole day driving to the PAM supermarket several miles away. I appreciate this is a much larger supermarket but the local one had a good selection of basic supplies and groceries.

We enjoyed the peaceful location of the villa without being too far from restaurants and the village. We would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the Tuscan countryside and is interested in visiting the larger, more touristy towns like Siena and San Gimignano, which are only a short drive away.

We hope these comments are helpful to you and future visitors to Rustico.

Mrs. J.T. and family, USA staying in Rustico. Dec 2014
Rustico

Rustico

Excellent location

Excellent location, really nice house, the owners are really helpful and nice.

Mr. C.H. and family, Sweden staying in Rustico. Dec 2011
Rustico

Rustico

Clean property good facilities

Clean property, good facilities at both property and local town. Only thing we could pick up on is that the printed directions given from Pisa airport were incorrect for the last couple of miles or so (they erroneously jump to directions from south). Confusion added half hour to journey but figured out eventually. Didn't detract from a great week.

Mr. C.G. and family, UK staying in Rustico.
Valdorcia

Valdorcia

...a jewel in the Tuscan countryside

We had a really lovely time in Valdorcia - all the family thought the house and location was great - a jewel in the Tuscan countryside. Our daughter and son in law would like to revisit with friends at some point in time. All yours and Sarah's assistance was much appreciated with the wonderful catering we had one night and all the travel instructions. Matteo the owner was charming and helpful also on the 2 occasions we had to reach out to him . We spent most evenings either having a barbecue or other in house cooking as we had the grand kids with us but obviously we were out three nights with the family wedding and also tried a recommended restaurant in Sarteano on the Valdorcia house list which was great.

L.R. and family, UK staying in Valdorcia. Jan 2019
Valdorcia

Valdorcia

... a beautiful old stone farmhouse

Valdorcia is a beautiful old stone farmhouse sitting high up on a sloping property overlooking the valley of the same name. Access is partly via a bumpy, unpaved road for just over a kilometre, which some may find challenging but we found added to the charm and deterred unnecessary traffic. The house is quite remote with no neighbours close by. Because of the altitude of the property, we found it breezy when we were there in September, but that didn’t stop us enjoying the magnificent view from the front of the house.

Rooms are large with high ceilings. Downstairs is an enormous kitchen/dining room with a large table seating eight, as well as a small area with a table for four. The kitchen is “rustic” but well equipped with six gas rings, a wall oven, a large old fireplace for grilling, and a new dishwasher. The pantry, which contains the fridge/freezer (and adjacent powder (cloak) room) is around 15 paces from the kitchen sink which makes for lots of walking. However, given the quality and quantity of Tuscan food, lots of walking is a good thing.

The main floor also has a small sitting area at the end of the dining/kitchen and a bedroom with en suite bathroom.

Upstairs there are five bedrooms, two with en suite bathrooms, and one particularly charming “library” bedroom. The communal bathroom is enormous and its anteroom has a washbasin and a washing machine. There is a lovely sitting room with comfortable sofas and chairs and a huge stone fireplace. A good place to sip Limoncello after dinner.

The caretaker lives on the property with his two friendly dogs. He brought us fresh figs, huge fresh eggs from his chickens, dark red, sweet tomatoes from the garden, as well as lettuces and onions. He is a real asset to the property, putting out garden chairs in the morning and maintaining the grounds beautifully, including the large swimming pool.

Sarteano, the local town, has a small but well-stocked supermarket, as well as some superb restaurants. We were given a list of recommended restaurants in the area by the owner of the farmhouse and every one was wonderful. On two occasions, Rita from Sarteano arrived with her bags and made three-course dinners of typical Tuscan food – enough for the eight of us for lunch next day as well.

The autostrada was fairly close (20 minutes drive) so visiting other areas from this property is relatively easy.

J.G. with Reid Party, Canada staying in Valdorcia. Sep 2017
Valdorcia

Valdorcia

...a place to be treasured

We have just returned from a wonderful visit to Valdorcia. This lovely house sits high up, with a magnificent view over the Val d’Orcia, which was a constant source of pleasure and inspiration. The house is large, with six bedrooms, but occupancy is limited to 8 people, which means that there is plenty of room for all. There are four shower rooms (two en suite, and one of the others has a bathtub too), and there is the added convenience of a separate toilet on the ground floor.

The kitchen is large and exceptionally well equipped, with more than enough pots and pans to satisfy even the most ardent cook. The dining table seats eight comfortably, and there is a very convenient seating area just off the kitchen, ideally placed so that those not involved in meal preparation can provide a stream of advice. The living room, on the first floor, has comfortable seating for at least eight people, with plenty of light and a fireplace for cooler evenings.

We were welcomed to Valdorcia by charming owners Matteo and his wife. They are justifiably proud of their house, and pay guests the compliment of furnishing it with family possessions. However, as beautiful and comfortable as the house and surroundings are, most the best thing about our stay was Gelasio, the caretaker. He lives on the premises, and has the knack of being totally unobtrusive unless needed. It seems that he can turn his hand to anything, but we particularly appreciated the way he produced fresh eggs, salad greens and figs almost before we knew that we needed them. Under his care the grounds and pool are kept immaculate.

We had two excellent meals prepared for us by Rita, who came in to cook, and also enjoyed several restaurants in the area. It is true that it is difficult to find a substandard meal in Italy, but we would like to say that the restaurants recommended in the house notes were outstanding. Other reviewers have rightly praised Ristorante Santa Chiara in Sarteano, but good as it is, we felt that Osteria da Gagliano also in Sarteano, is even better. All credit to Matteo for these recommendations, and also for sending us to Zi’ Pina in Fiumicino, where we spent our last night in Italy before returning (reluctantly) to Canada. Overall, Valdorcia is a place to be treasured, and returned to as often as possible.

Neville and Jenny Reid staying in valdorcia. Sep 2017
Valdorcia

Valdorcia

We would love to come again!

We loved Valdorcia – the house and grounds had the most wonderful atmosphere which we fell in love with as soon as we arrived and met the owner. So many glorious things about it but perhaps above all the view from the property which is stunning whether sitting under the big oak tree in front of the house which provides such marvellous shade or from down at the pool. I absolutely loved early morning walks up to Castligioncello del Trinoro where the staff were always very friendly and it was possible to get coffee and a pastry on the terrace with the spectacular view back down over the house. We were also fortunate enough to catch one of the concerts there – quite amazing – such an astonishing quality of musician performing without charge to the audience and in such an intimate venue.

One of our guests and myself are keen walkers so we also enjoyed walking through the woods above the property to La Foce (War in Val D’Orcia is such an interesting read if you have visited the area).

The house itself was very comfortable and we all loved the fact that it felt like such a home – several of us are avid readers and would have loved to be able to read Italian as just seeing the depth and range of books was amazing. The kitchen was very well equipped and we ate in a great deal but we had a good dinner at Santa Chiara in Sarteano, a wonderful lunch at Osteria La Porta in Monticchiello and a very good casual lunch in Radicofani.

Above all though we would all like to say a huge thank you to Gelasio who was such a kindly and humble presence throughout the week – our Italian was almost non-existent as is his English so I was constantly anxious that when we tried to ask him something we sent him to a paroxysm of anxiety, however, he communicated particularly well with one of our number who is a wonderful listener and a great gardener and I will never forget him bringing her a wonderful basket of figs – so beautifully presented with the basket all lined with fig leaves.

We would love to come again!

E.H. and friends, UK staying in Valdorcia. Dec 2017
Valdorcia

Valdorcia

We had a great time at Valdorcia

We had a great time at Valdorcia, and could not fault the house. In particular, the owner Matteo and his wife were very helpful in showing us around on arrival. The housekeeper, Gelasio, was around most of the time but we didn’t find this intrusive. Despite the language barrier, we were just about able to communicate with Gelasio when needed. The gardens were really well kept and the views across the valley were fantastic.

The house is along a rough steep track, about 1 mile off the main road. This was not an issue for us but might be worth warning people about this.

We ate out at Ristorante Santa Chiara in nearby Sarteano which we would recommend. Good food and service in an interesting location of an ex convent.

Mr. P.C. with family and friends, UK staying in Valdorcia. Jun 2016
Dimora

Dimora

Beautifully equipped, very spacious and one really feels almost like at home

We rented the house for two weeks with two families (3 teenagers and 4 adults). The house is beautifully equipped, very spacious and one really feels almost like at home. There was food and wine waiting for us when we arrived. That was a very nice treat! The pool is absolutely amazing, the bedrooms and bathrooms are well furnished and beautifully decorated, almost like in a hotel. The kitchen is very big, and since we cooked and baked almost everyday, we really enjoyed the bountifully equipped kitchen. In walking distance there is a wonderful Osteria (great food!), and the next supermarket can be reached in 5 minutes by car. The house is located well off of a street, so that it is very peaceful and quiet there. The house is surrounded by beautiful vineyards and olive trees. The garden is huge, there are so many places to sit in the shade for reading and relaxing that we never even used them all. There was a little problem with the pool's electric, but when we reported it, the owner had it fixed by an electrician the same day. Unfortunately the wifi is very poor due to the fact that the house is so far out in the country. It is sufficient for sending a text message or an email with attachments, but don't expect to stream anything. Since my husband and I had a work video conference, we talked to the owner about it and he gladly offered help by letting us use his work office in Barberino for the conference. That was very thoughtful, thank you, Guido! Communication with the owner was easy and delightful. We really loved our stay there and would love to come back again!

V.K. and family, from Germany staying in Dimora. Aug 2021
Dimora

Dimora

Another wonderful week

Caro Guido, another wonderful week in Dimora, our second year. We will definitely be back next year and the next and the next!

A.W. from UK staying in Dimora. Aug 2020
Dimora

Dimora

Fantastic as usual

Thank you for your hospitality and kindness that made our stay fantastic as usual. The home-cooking by Pieranna adds a touch that you cannot find anywhere else in Tuscany. The Chianti region is beautiful also in autumn.

Anon staying in Dimora. Aug 2020
Dimora

Dimora

Another wonderful week in Dimora

Caro Guido, another wonderful week in Dimora, our second year. We will definitely be back next year and the next and the next!

A.W. UK staying in Dimora. Feb 2020
Quercia

Quercia

Quercia was something special

Quercia was something special. The whole complex is beautifully laid out, in a stunning position in the hills, and has the best pool I've experienced. Lucia, the owner, is friendly, helpful and generous. Our initial journey was considerably longer than it should have been because of an accident on the motorway, but she waited up till midnight to welcome us. Fresh tomatoes, eggs, and onions just for us to help ourselves. Local wine at 4 euros a litre. Everything is quite simple, but having been to Montestigliano in 2000, that seems to be the Tuscan style. We didn't lack for anything. The only drawback for some might be the hill track to get there (1 km driving from the main road), but it's OK as long as you take everything slowly!

G.D. from UK staying in Quercia. Sep 2017
Quercia

Quercia

we were blown away by the infinity pool

Service rating : After a number of years booking holidays online through big brand travel agencies (i.e. Booking.com, Expedia etc), what a refreshing experience booking through 'Invitation to Tuscany' was! As this trip to Italy was for my first wedding anniversary, I wanted to ensure that this trip was extra special for my wife and I.

From the outset, the booking process was very clear. Moreover Lyn was always on hand to respond promptly to any questions I had about the area plus any additional queries I had in advance of my trip.

The personal touches were the bits that really stood out over previous experiences booking through more recognised, but less personable providers. The information pack received before our trip was fantastic and proved to be a very handy guide on our day trips. All of the information we had received both before and to take with us on our trip meant that it wasn't necessary to contact Lyn or our designated contact provided in advance during our stay in Italy. No doubt the level of service would have still been great though had we needed to.

What more can I say other than it was a pleasure to book with you. The villa and our hosts were brilliant. Thanks also for all of your tips which helped me to plan our activities. We wouldn't hesitate to book again with Invitation to Tuscany when looking at our next stay in Italy. Product: A very picturesque drive down from Bologna to Southern Tuscany where we had coordinates in our Sat Nav, allowing us to find our villa in Quercia with ease.

We were greeted upon arrival by our host Lucia. After unloading the luggage from our car, Lucia showed us around the property. Not only were we impressed by our villa with complimentary touches (bread, olive oil, coffee etc) we were blown away by the infinity pool, with incredible picture postcard views overlooking the sprawling woods. Couldn't wait to jump in...and we did, a number of times during our stay.

For my wife and I, the villa was situated in a great area for us to drive to various areas of Tuscany (such as Siena) in good time, and certainly to have quick access to purchase essentials, typically from Coop in nearby Ciciano. I must stress though that we barely needed much food as Lucia and her husband were happy for us to pick at their homegrown produce of garlic, butternut squash, onions, tomatoes etc at any time, which we did! We both enjoy throwing meals together so it was great to use local Italian produce for this purpose.

Being young and adventurous, we often didn't return to the Villa from our day trips until fairly late. When we did, there was a communal area where we sat down with Lucia, her husband and some German guests staying at another villa on the estate to share stories (in GCSE German and broken Italian) over a bottle (or two) of tuscan wine and nibbles. This was lots of fun.

We couldn't have asked for a more idyllic, authentically rustic Italian villa with nicer hosts. The location was also great. If ever in Southern Tuscany again, I will definitely head back.

Note: the only thing I would say would be to take or purchase some insect repellant in Italy for your stay if you are susceptible to being bitten, especially if venturing into far flung regions away from any of the cities.

O.P. staying in Quercia. Sep 2016
Trebbiano

Trebbiano

A Tuscan treat

The apartment was lovely, perfect for 2, although with the help of our hosts we managed to comfortably fit in our adult daughter. The location is idyllic, staff charming and the wine is superb. On arrival, tired and hot, we could have done with some help transferring luggage to the apartment ( not near the car park). We did point out but it wasn’t too much of an issue, that the fridge only kept thinks slightly cool not chilled. Overall it was a super break and we would most certainly return.

Mike from UK staying in Trebbiano. Jun 2022
Trebbiano

Trebbiano

A gem of a place

This is a little gem of a place! Clean and comfortable in an excellent location with a fantastic pool. Excellent location in a small village.

There is a very good restaurant 2 minutes walk away and the shops are a short drive. We would recommend the wine tour and tasting as, apart from being fantastic wine, it is also very informative. We had a car for the duration of our holiday, collecting and returning at Pisa Airport.

After discussion with Invitation to Tuscany we went with EuroCar and were very pleased with the car and the service we received. We had purchased a European Garmin prior to our trip and this served us very well. The roads are easy to drive but having the Sat Nav just made things so much easier.

Mrs. K.R., UK staying in Trebbiano. May 2015
The Hay Loft

The Hay Loft

Dan's visit

I visited this little wine estate in May 2021 so we have no reviews yet - these are my impressions. As always, my main focus on a first visit is on the owners and the caretakers - they will be the people looking after you when you visit so much rests on their shoulders. I met both caretakers and the owner, they couldn't have been more charming so I'm confident you'll be well looked after here. The estate has 8 apartments, we have listed three to start with, our favourites. This one, the "Hay Loft" has these fabulous large windows so I thought it would be a great addition.

The buildings are surrounded by vineyards that are run by the little estate, producing their own wine. THe swimming pool is set higher up the hill than the buildings so you get great views across the Arno valley towards the Chianti hills. You can walk - or drive - down to the local train station and get into the centre of Florence in under 30 minutes, which is a lovely way to explore the city and then come back to your pool and spacious apartment.

Dan Wrightson staying in The Wine Lover. May 2021
Stalla

Stalla

We loved stalla!

We loved Stalla! It exceeded our expectations in every respect and was very good value. It is in such a lovely setting and seemed more spacious than in the pictures. We also appreciated the high standard of fittings and good quality bed linen. The kitchen and large dining table were fantastic as we cooked most evenings. There was a "proper", clean pool, which we all enjoyed. Anne Marie was fabulous and an amazingly kind and knowledgeable host, recommending the antiques market in Arezzo, which was fascinating, and giving very useful tips for our day trip to Florence.

We were due to be terribly early on our arrival day, so stopped for lunch in Civitella, which is stunning, but not mentioned in our guidebooks. We were so pleased we'd not missed out on seeing it. The day out we all loved most was to the Abbazia di Monte Oliveto Maggiore. Quite a long journey but it had been my favourite place when I went 30 years ago, when staying in an Invitation to Tuscany property with my own parents. It was wonderful to take my family and find they loved it too. from the stunning frescoes and marquetry to the delicious wine and olive oil. Such a peaceful spot.

We had a fabulous time and want to come back to Tuscany soon, possibly with my sisters and their families if we can find a time when we can all make it. Thank you so much for your personal attention in helping us choose a property and with all the details of the booking. It made such a difference. We hope to book with you again. I would certainly recommend Invitation to Tuscany very highly to anyone.

M.B. family from UK staying in Stalla. Dec 2018
Stalla

Stalla

We would return without any hesitation!

Conveniently located for Arezzo, Sienna, Florence and the Arno valley. Plenty of restaurants in the area and the nearest small supermarket 10 minutes drive away, is open Sunday morning until 12.30, during the summer. Good large Ipercoop on outskirts of Arezzo about 30 mins drive. We found it useful to stock up here at the beginning of the holiday. Valdambra estate- large extensive grounds-plenty of space for children to play and have adventures! Doesn’t feel crowded with all 3 properties occupied. Lovely pool and terrace with plenty of loungers, tables and sun shades. Property clean, tidy and well maintained, well furnished and well equipped with good internet connection. Annemarie is a friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and welcoming host and is willing to make phone calls to book restaurants or tickets for visits to museums etc. An information pack (rubbish collection, restaurants, shopping etc) would have been useful, but Annemarie is aware of this and is in process of providing one. If 6 people using property, only having the use of one shower may become a problem, especially as it is off the master bedroom. Location-secluded-not in walking distance to anywhere -a car is needed for shops and restaurants (but we were aware of this when booking the property) and is not a problem. We would return without any hesitation!

Mrs. A.R. and family, Switzerland staying in Stalla. Feb 2013
Stalla

Stalla

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stalla!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stalla! Anne-Marie was a wonderful help and the fact that she spoke both English and Italian was especially useful when we needed to make a trip to the pharmacy! My two daughters (8 and 11 years old) loved everything that the property had to offer. The large pool, the ping pong table and lounging hammocks were enjoyed each day. The girls also loved playing bocce each evening on the grassy space outside our villa.

We loved the fully stocked kitchen and we were especially happy with the option to arrive with groceries in the kitchen! Thanks Anne-Marie! The villa was clean and spacious and fully equipped. We had so much to do that we didn't turn the television on for the entire week!

We found it helpful when our host was able to make restaurant and gallery reservations for us. That was very useful and made our experience less stressful.

We really enjoyed our experience with Invitation to Tuscany as well as our stay at Stalla. We would return and recommend both services! The Canadian reps for Invitation to Tuscany were superb in answering all my questions!

Ms S.S. and family, Canada staying in Stalla. Dec 2013
Stalla

Stalla

Stalla lived up to our expectations and more

Stalla lived up to our expectations and more. Beautiful grounds and location, lovely swimming pool in idyllic setting, it is a tastefully furnished apartment with everything you need. We took our two very young granddaughters with us on holiday and Stalla was perfect for our needs. The apartment is spacious and really well equipped. The vast kitchen table with comfortable upholstered chairs is quite luxurious. Wonderful comfortable beds with fine bed linen made for a good night's sleep. The gardens are vast, & we loved sitting out at night with the trees and pool illuminated - it is a magical place. Annemarie is friendly and helpful, a great font of knowledge about places to eat and nearby towns and villages to visit. We took her advice and ate at two great restaurants. Her recommendations are spot on. Annemarie intends to put together an information pack for the house - a book of tips and recommendations, and this will be a real plus. We would not have stumbled upon the restaurants she recommended, and would have hated to miss out on them. Because of having a 2 and 4 year old with us, we did not do very much sightseeing and didn't go too far afield. This was fine as we have visited Italy and Tuscany many times, and Stalla is such a delightful place to be. The places we did visit were Monte San Savino - a delightful walled hill town, Cortona and nearby Civitella. All very lovely, well preserved towns with lots of history and good places to eat. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Manager response: I'm delighted! We think it's great but as it's the first year it's always good to hear you were as happy as we had hoped you would be - and AnneMarie is the perfect host! Dan W.

Ms. S.C. and family, UK staying in Stalla. Oct 2013
Stalla

Stalla

Really recommend this location...

Stayed at Stalla and Arcata together with another family and our children. The estate is beautiful, comfortable with high standard and very nice interior. Great pool and possibilities for relaxation or do sports if you prefer that. Cooked our food but also went to nearby villages to visit trattorias, restaurants and Osterias. The owner is an energetic wonderful lady always ready to help out to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Really recommend this location and especially if you go with friends or family but there is enough space even if there are other families around. Great location to visit Siena, Montepulciano, Arezzo, Florence etc. Just perfect vacation!!

Mrs. A.L. and family, Poland staying in Stalla. May 2015
Rondine

Rondine

We really enjoyed our stay at La Rondine

We really enjoyed our stay at La Rondine and will be recommending it to others. It was larger and better equipped than we expected and the village was charming, and everything you could hope for in a Tuscan village. We relied on the excellent dining recommendations provided, but also ate in a lot so have nothing much to add there. There is a lot to do within an easy day’s drive so a week is hardly enough time to fully appreciate the area.

The only constructive criticism I have is very minor but may be of some use. The property manager did not seem to be aware of our arrival and was out of town when we phoned an hour before arrival in accordance with the instructions. As a result there was a bit of a rush around by him over the phone to get the place prepared for us. It also smelt a bit damp on our arrival and from time to time afterwards – but not a big problem. The property manager was also away when we left so we just had to leave the key in the letterbox. This was no problem for us but may have been if someone was coming in after us.

Overall an excellent experience.

Mr. J.M., New Zealand staying in Rondine. Sep 2014
Rondine

Rondine

2 glorious Fall weeks in La Rondine

We spent 2 glorious Fall weeks in La Rondine and enjoyed it greatly. The apartment is perfectly located in the town’s center, right next to the town wall. The master bedroom was big and nicely decorated, with a lovely view out onto the garden; the kitchen was roomy and as advertised. The best part was the garden and patio, complete with an olive tree et al, looking out onto the town wall and church. We had leisurely breakfasts every day on the patio. The locale is quiet.If you are looking to experience Italy and the “real” Europe and escape the stress of the tourist cities like Siena, Rome, Florence and Venice, you couldn’t do better than Casole d’ Elsa. The town isn’t in any of the tourist books but should be. We’ve tired of the big cities of Europe, which are completely over-run with tourists; Casole is the antidote. It’s what Cortona was in “Under the Tuscan Sun” before Frances Mayes alerted the world into its existence. Casole is perched on a hill 420 meters above sea level with fantastic views in all directions. Very laidback and friendly town, like living in the 1950s. 2 small grocery stores, 2 butcher shops, 1 medium size grocery store, 3 bakeries and several restaurants and bars. Plus an art school, which had the effect of sprinkling works of art throughout the town. A very convenient place, which keeps the ”old world” charm of a small town.The best way experience the town is just before sunset, when people sit on their door steps and congregate in the narrow streets. Fridays after 4pm are special with the children playing in the main square. Casole is the real Europe and La Rondine is the ideal way to experience it.

Mr. W.L. and friends, UK staying in Rondine. Sep 2014
Rondine

Rondine

The apartment is lovely, typically Tuscan

The apartment is lovely, typically Tuscan and with all amenities. The master bedroom is very comfortable, a pleasure to sleep in. The kitchen is just great and has everything one would need. The garden was just emerging in Spring but was lovely though a bit too cool to spend evening in. Casole d'Elsa is a joy of architecture, humanity, and history. While we were there, there was a wonderful concert in the main church, many art exhibits, and the museum is terrific. Every restaurant in and around the village is friendly and has food ranging from great to excellent. Driving to the seaside, to Siena, to Pisa and to the many castles, fortresses, wineries, towns is very easy and there is a nearby train to Florence, if one wishes to tackle that. There is so much history: from Etruscan through 20th century to be seen and the terrain is very beautiful. We saw Spring emerge and followed fruit trees blooming, fields being plowed and the snow melt from the mountains in view. I felt that we could have spent months, even years, in what felt immediately like our home.

Anon staying in Rondine. Aug 2014
Rondine

Rondine

Mr. M.H. and family, UK

The village where the apt. is located is lovely and interesting. The art school and the cultural atmosphere add to its attractiveness. We enjoyed breakfasting in the garden, the kitchen and the bathroom were fully-equipped -- nothing was lacking. The double bed was comfortable also for people who need good support, the lovely linens made it a pleasure to look at and be in. Restaurants and parking are close by.

Mr. M.H. and family, UK staying in Rondine. Aug 2013
Rondine

Rondine

lovely, comfortable, 2 bedroom home.

I and my family (2 teenaged girls) spent 5 days in the lovely, comfortable, 2 bedroom home, with modern amenities and with its own garden with views. It is situated within the village walls and the village shops and restaurants are 4 mins walk away and have everything you need. Parking was no problem, either. Also, its a perfect location from which to visit all the sights and treasures of Tuscany.

Mrs. E.P. and family, UK staying in Rondine. Aug 2013
Fienile

Fienile

Beautiful villa in gorgeous surroundings

Beautiful villa in gorgeous surroundings. Happy place. Lovely pool, al fresco eating, comfortable beds. Lovely decor, spotlessly clean. Marco, the owner, stopped by a couple of times to say hi. I'd highly recommend. Very close to Siena too. Take a cab, not worth the hassle of finding a parking place.

Sandra Thompson staying in Fienile.
Fienile

Fienile

A very enjoyable two week stay

Great location - 20 mins from easy to access car park in Siena (Il Campo). Supermarket on road by from Siena to villa. Villa - Very clean, great use of space, comfortable furniture inside and out. Pool very clean and large. Lots of places to sit. Shade from the Sun if required at all times of the day. Wifi worked well. Villa well equipped. Air conditioning very cheap (25 Euros for two weeks, used every night). Owner was helpful and responsive. We had a very enjoyable two week stay.

Mr. S.J. and family, from the UK staying in Fienile. Sep 2014
Fienile

Fienile

A wonderful home during our two week stay

Il Fienile is a wonderful villa! There are six bedrooms (four double and two single) which were clean and comfortable with lots of wardrobe space, extra pillows, blankets and available plug-ins. There are four bathrooms with showers, 2 also have bidets. Hairdryers are provided as well. The kitchen is spacious with a large refrigerator and five burner gas stove with an electric oven. The kitchen is well-stocked with the cookware necessary to create your own gourmet meals. A stained glass window makes the atmosphere even more special. Three complete sets of china and a wide assortment of stemware are available for dining in the dining room or outside under the covered terrace beside the pool. The gardens are splendid and the pool, complete with a diving rock, is clean. There are lots of lights which allow the deck and gardens to be used after sunset. Access to the gardens is easy from one of two garden doors equipped with screens and shutters. The property, although not far from Siena and other villas, is secluded on a hillside from which the views are fabulous. The overall ambience of this stone house furnished with antiques and semi-precious art work is luxurious. The owner lives near by and is available to answer questions and deal expeditiously with any concerns. The available WiFi worked well but downloading was sometimes slow in the evening. Il Fienile was a wonderful home during our two week stay. It is centrally located for easy access to many Tuscan must-see places like Siena, Montepulcino, Castello di Verrazzano, Lucca and San Gimignano. For an extra special treat, contact Emily at a Tuscan Table (www.atuscantable.com). She can prepare a scrumptious meal for you at the villa.

Mrs. L.L. and family, from the USA staying in Fienile. Dec 2010
Fienile

Fienile

Lovely, very comfortable, clean and well-appointed

The house is lovely, very comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The pool is clean, close to the house and a good size for proper swimming as well as playing, though would not be suitable for very small children. The whole outdoor area, seating, dining etc is very well arranged. The owner was extremely helpful, and responded quickly when we had a couple of small issues or queries. The age range of the party was from 7 to 74 and all of us loved it.

Mrs. D.W. and family, from the UK staying in Fienile. Feb 2011
Fienile

Fienile

Very relaxed environment, well appointed spacious villa

We stayed at Fienile for a week with extended family (including 3 children between 1-3). Very relaxing environment, well appointed, spacious villa with good facilities (internet (which did drop out a bit)) and decent sized bedrooms and bathrooms. The outdoor area was well used and the pools proximity to the house was important to us with little children running around, the pool isn't fenced and we bough a water alarm for our 17 month old daughter in case she fell in. There is a lovely area for eating meals in-between the pool and the house. The location of the villa is excellent with a supermarket (Co-op) about 1.5 kms away and Siena a 15 minute drive. It is also conveniently located for day trips to other places in Tuscany (San Gimignano, Montepulciano, etc). Marco, the owner was very helpful and responsive to any issues or questions we had.

Mrs. C.C. and family, from the UK staying in Fienile. Aug 2012
Fienile

Fienile

The villa is absolutely georgeous

This villa is absolutely gorgeous. Ten of us stayed there, ranging in age from 13 years to 59. Plenty of room for all. We didn't spend much time inside because the garden, patio and pool were so beautiful. We ate Italian family style dinners outside in the evening. Adults and kids alike hung out in the pool in until well after dark. The views from this villa are to die for, and the sunsets. We met Marco, the owner a couple of times. He was charming and extremely helpful. Wish I'd booked two weeks instead of one. You can get a taxi into Siena for ten euro, which is better than trying to park there. Can't say enough good things about this comfortable superb property. Loved it!

Mrs. S.T. and family from the USA staying in Fienile. Nov 2015
Fienile

Fienile

Excellent base to explore this part of Italy

The property was delightful, beautifully situated in the peaceful hills with amazing views, yet only a very short drive (10 minutes) to Siena. The property was spacious and very well equipped. Wonderful gardens with terraces, a pool and fabulous views of the surrounding Tuscan countryside. The owner, Marco was most welcoming on arrival, showing us all round the property and ensuring us of his assistance should there have been anything we needed while staying. We enjoyed a brilliant evening when a local family came and cooked an amazing Italian feast for us - absolutely delicious! Plenty of beautiful places within easy striking distance. We would certainly recommend the villa as an excellent base to explore this part of Italy.

Mrs. C.A. and family, from the UK staying in Fienile. Feb 2014
Fienile

Fienile

Definitely recommend Fienile to family and friends

Fienile had wonderful indoor and outdoor space and was very comfortable for our group of 8. We loved dining outside at night under the canopy next to the pool while sharing our experiences and tasting our newly found Tuscany regional wines. Also, the terrace and garden views were so beautiful and relaxing...we often enjoyed our morning coffee there. The villa kitchen is very well equipped with plenty of glasses, dishes, pots and pans. We enjoy cooking, so we prepared several meals in the kitchen there. Two nights we arranged to have dinner catered...one was a drop-off and the other was an in-house cooking class. We enjoyed a full day private wine tour to Montalcino and another day trip to Antinori Winery. We also spent a few relaxing hours one day at the thermal springs (not sure of name). Of course, Siena itself had so much to offer in the way of shops, restaurants, and beautiful churches and museums. Our favorite restaurant in Siena was Trattoria Papei. On other days, we just drove and discovered small villages with very quaint restaurants for lunch and just enjoyed sitting and "soaking in" the atmosphere. We would definitely recommend Fienile to family and friends and would love to return with our family in a few years. Thanks for your help and information to make this a beautiful and memorable trip.

Mrs D.K. and family, USA staying in Fienile. Feb 2015
Natura

Natura

This place is possibly the most tranquil place on earth

This review is for Faggio, the apartment next door:

What a haven! This place is possibly the most tranquil place on earth. Somewhere in the middle of nowhere, Lucia came out to find us and lead us to her beautiful villa. From that moment, she was the most attentive and generous host. Nothing was too much trouble and we enjoyed her recommendations of placed to visit that were a little off the beaten track. She recommended and booked restaurants for us and even arranged bike hire. She told us about some tours too, although we didn't end up doing any. The place is gorgeous. We particularly enjoyed hearing the stories that Emilio told us about how he built the place. And everything functions brilliantly with small details to make your holiday super comfortable. Huge trays for carrying food to your individual patios, enough nooks to sit and enjoy every view at every time of day and I counted at least four different coffee making gadgets in our cupboards. The pool is possibly the nicest pool I have ever swum in. It's stone lined, three metres deep at one end with an infinity edge. It's also salt water and kind on the skin. It's fresh and the views are spectacular. It's a tranquil spot, even if you children are charging around further up the hill. What sums it up is its simplicity. It's elegant a beautiful but it's uncomplicated which is exactly what we wanted for our holiday. All in all, it was a refreshing and relaxing holiday but it was the little things which exceeded expectations. We'd love to return again, perhaps in October for the wine, olive oil and chestnut festivals which sound amazing.

D.P. and family staying in Faggio. Jul 2016
Archimede

Archimede

Wonderful time at Lake Como

Just wanted to send you a note to let you know we had a wonderful time the other week at Lake Como! What an amazing location! We didn’t really want to leave the house it was so beautiful there with the view. We did manage however to se some of the beautiful gardens and villas as well as take a tour around the lake by a boat Greta arranged for us. Thank you for all your assistance. We look forward to our return.

Melissa Y and family staying in Archimede. Jun 2018
Archimede

Archimede

Fabulous place for a multi-generational holiday

We loved Archimede - we stayed here for two weeks for a big family reunion with grandparents, two siblings' families and grandchildren with ages that varied from 20 to 1 year old. It suited us all perfectly, the house is spacious with really large living areas for us all to eat and chat together, with the airy terrace over the lake and close to the barbecue a popular place for evening meals. The pool and Jacuzzi have stunning views and were very popular for relaxed catch-ups, sitting in the bubbles with a drink.

The surrounding area has some fabulous restaurants as well as plenty of activities for the more energetic in the family. I got a lot of cycling done, and also braved canyoning in Val Bodengo with the younger adults. There were boat trips, relaxing walks and an excursion into the higher alpine valleys by funicular.

A wonderful villa in a great spot, I can highly recommend it.

Dan Wrightson from ITT staying in Archimede. Aug 2016